Teen Pop Melody: What Do You Have?

You probably wanna be a little buzzed when reading this post.

If you’re a teenager of the 1950s, you have:

  • … many songs. Houellebecq noted in Elementary Particles that the 1950s teen culture was the heyday of romantic love, something about the era’s harmony of innocence and freedom. Not my time, but I associate the vibe with Bobby Vinton’s “Roses Are Red.”

If you’re a teenager of the 1960s, you have:

  • Beach Boys “Wouldn’t It Be Nice”

If you’re a teenager of the 1970s, you have:

  • Peter Frampton “Baby, I Love Your Way”

If you’re a teenager of the 1980s, you have:

  • [I have ordered my men to tie me to the mast lest the sirens of teenage highs and lows compel me to overload WordPress servers with ballads from that decade.]

If you’re a teenager of the 1990s, you have:

  • Mazzy Star “Fade Into You”
  • Guns N’ Roses “Don’t Cry”

If you’re a teenager of the 2000s, you have:

  • Avril Lavigne “I’m With You”
  • Fuel “Hemorrhage (In My Hands)”

If you’re a teenager of the 2010s, you have:

  • … what do you have?

***

If you remember the 1980s, you will discharge one manly tear when watching this video:

65 thoughts on “Teen Pop Melody: What Do You Have?

  1. Dear Mr PAearts!

    I am calling u this bcuz it is what nancy may keeps calling our own heartiste and omg I am so jelly! teeheehee who do I have 2 blow to get so close to my main crush, I mean bromance, I mean like, no homo, cuz I is a GUYZ** n all teeheehee . . . .

    Sigh. what ridiculousness. And hey– so “Caligula” is wrong side? Silly me, I really wasn’t paying attention! Of course, that makes it all the richer that nancy may sought validation from Caligula’s friendly testimony.

    Sigh. I note heartiste’s concern the chateau is becoming an NSA honeypot. I hope I haven’t been a net negative. But these long-con tramp trolls have to be stomped out!

    Now On Topic:

    Did Mazzy Star have that many listeners at any time? I actually WAS one– I remember driving at night many times with that album playing on cassette; I bought the follow-up and was impressed by the first few tracks but, strange as it may seem, I don’t think I ever even finished listening to the album.

    Many Talmudo-Western pop songs today are detailed plans for a breakup (Beyoncé telling you which side of her mailbox to put your shit out on the curb– I doubt she’s ever actually “broke up” with a man, since she’s only known her father and her gay pedo husband), or detailed plans for playing with yourself (the girl from the Coens’ True Grit remake, whom Greg Eliot pegged for an eggplant, did one of these tracks at some point–I’ve seen the Cinema Sins spinoff Music Video Sins version [money quote: “That lady is really GETTIN’ DOWN to this song about JERKIN’ OFF[). Even in the grocery store, I keep having to hear some crap about “A little less conversation/ A little more TOUCH MAH BAWDAY”. Children shouldn’t have to hear that shit.

    ** and yes, that mentally constipated yenta can only accuse me of the things I accuse her of. Whatever happened to “go f**k yourself, you fat incel retard?”

  2. — Did Mazzy Star have that many listeners at any time? I actually WAS one–

    Yeah, I was too, but was in my early 20s then. My list of earnest teen songs (80s) begins with Def Leppard’s “Foolin’.”

  3. Does “Don’t Stop Believing” count as earnest? Or merely as THE VOICE OF GOD?

    lolz I’m typing this from just signing in to my own blog, so I see below me some wordpress “recommended” posts, here with teen themes– actually, and unironically, it appears they’re both BY teenagers.

    Next-gen Spice Girls Little Mix have a creepy way of looking multiethnic, even the ones who aren’t multiethnic. Music Vid Sins breaks down this present-day teen “anthem” thus:

  4. Pingback: Teen Pop Melody: What Do You Have? | Reaction Times

  5. Dennis DeYoung, Desert Moon,

    Those summer nights
    when we were young
    we bragged of things
    we never done
    We were dreamers
    only dreamers

    Moments pass
    And time moves on
    what dreams remain
    just as long as there’s dreamers
    only dreamers
    on Desert Moon

    — Do you know where you’re going?

    — I don’t know, maybe Chicago. You keep the car, I don’t need it anymore.

    *******************************

    Pretty obscure stuff, that song. Barely rang a bell.

    The thing about the video that stood out, besides the passable chorus, is the 80s fashion: very Chad. I would say that most of it still flies, at least around here.

    Harken back to that time before things went to hell.

    That video would have been set in the 80s, except that the story is of the singer hero returning to his hometown which is the Land that Time Forgot.

    But notice the rugged fitting clothes, denim and tucked-in shirts, and (but of course) the hair. 80s hair.

    However. No 80s shorts. Talk about ridiculous, Members Only short shorts for men. Yeah, those were a thing. (see for example video)

  6. Steve Perry had the best voice of any one. What was his ethnic background, he looks like he might have mix in him. Or maybe he is just from NJ and part Portuguese.

    Separate Ways

    More great 80s fashion. Very angsty.

  7. Well, I was just thinking this afternoon about what “Portuguese” means.

    I hope it isn’t true, but if it were and if telegony is too, then we’d have to go full Nazi in order to contain the damage from multiculturalism.

    I mean, if 4% Neanderthal makes Ice People human and Africans whatever they are, then for the safety of the universe we’d have to make sure the 22nd Century is sterile of DNA of SubSaharan origin.

    But frankly, I think everyone has the right to track and make sure no drop is getting into their bloodstream regardless. Although I note that Jewish “blonde” chick with the Art History degree who was some kind of alt-lite youtube sensation a while back contends that 23&me spikes everyone’s results with a fake one percent “just because”

  8. “Everybody has that one Journey song…”

    I could swear I owned their live album “Captured” when I was a kid– I certainly owned “Escape” and “Frontiers” and had “Any Way You Want It” as a single.

    In fact, when I played my first copy of “Escape” I was horrified to discover an audible scratch somewhere on side one and I successfully implored my dad to take it back to K-mart and get me a fresh copy.

    Audiophilia at age seven.

  9. In terms of both mag and daily newspaper coverage, to the best of my recall, I NEVER had to review or advance Journey. But was that via default? I seem to recall the band having some fairly lengthy hiatus in the 90s and more recently; and some Phillipinian or whomever replaced Steve Perry.

    FWIW, in my mind I imagine a Polish rock star would look like Perry.

  10. “Everybody has that one Journey song…”: “Any Way You Want It”.

    Yup. Thanks to ‘Caddyshack’ this song was a hit among the (slightly) older kids in my country club-studded CT town.

  11. Well, at least our blog host’s racial politics are in line with his pop aesthetics, as I don’t think one could come up with a ‘whiter’ band than Styx. Of the few times in my life in which I was literally the only the only NAM in the building, Styx was one of those shows.

    I think that was also true for my experience seeing The Oakridge Boys.

  12. It’s weird to recall how immensely popular Styx were among American youth in the late 70s-early 80s. I think you had to be there.

    I admit to liking ‘Come Sail Away.’ What a classic. Classic late 70s. For me it’s one of those songs you hear on the car radio late at night while driving home from work or your girlfriend’s place.

    When I was a little kid I had a school music teacher who was really into synthesizers and electronic music, and he would often play this Styx song and analyze the synthesizer breaks with us.

    I got my first Walkman in 1983 and one of the first songs I listened to on it was ‘Mr. Roboto.’ But that year marked sort of a break, and I somehow said goodbye to Styx and gravitated towards Bowie, New Wave, Punk, and alternative.

  13. — I don’t think one could come up with a ‘whiter’ band than Styx

    That’s an alien way to think and I can’t relate to it. It’s like saying “I don’t think one could come up with breathing a more 80/20 nitrogen-oxygen mix than the air in this room.” What the hell else would you breathe? If it’s tear gas or carbon monoxide, you don’t discuss it, you do something about it. Every thing I like is “white.” Relativising the natural is insidious.

  14. — I got my first Walkman in 1983

    I did too, and played Def Leppard’s “Pyromania” tape over and over on it. To this day, I find “Foolin'” an exceptional song, while my tastes have changed a bit since then.

    Funny story, as far as 12-year-olds telling tall tales goes, and their friends not calling Bullshit because the story is just so damn cool. A friend and I were playing Motley Crue’s “Too Young to Fall In Love” at his house in ’83 and commenting on their almost scary glam photos in the LP sleeve. So my friend says “Motley Crue is so kick-ass, that one time a dude got up at one of their concerts and yelled YOU SUCK!, so the drummer threw his drum stick at the fan, hitting him right in the forehead and killing him!”

  15. The Styx song that made the strongest impression on me was “Don’t Let It End.” I didn’t have their album but the local radio station played it constantly. It was one of those melodies, especially when the verses crescendo, that resonates with puberty-aged kid’s wild new thoughts about girls. It wasn’t the lyrics, it was the pathos and attitude.

    Two other songs with that effect on me:
    – Asia “Heat of the Moment” (from the lyrics: “And now you find yourself in ’82” — LOL)
    – The power chords in John Mellekamp’s “Jack and Diane.”

  16. — I think that was also true for my experience seeing The Oakridge Boys

    For a moment I conflated them with Little River Band, whose songs I occasionally play on Youtube. The ‘stache-n-sideburns mellow rock from the 1970s is the flip side to my usual rock/pop tastes.

  17. Top 5 bands in history. 🙂 🙂

    1. Journey
    2. Loverboy
    3. Foreigner
    4. Toto
    5. Def Leppard (tie)
    5. Heart (tie)
    5. The Scorpions (tie)

    Whenever you see interviews of the old Def Leppard guys they’re a little delusional about their place in rock history, though. They are constantly comparing themselves to Elvis, the Beatles and such…

  18. “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” and “Baby I Love Your Way” are the best of those songs. “Desert Moon” might have nostalgic appeal for some people, but that’s about it.

  19. That’s an alien way to think and I can’t relate to it. It’s like saying “I don’t think one could come up with breathing a more 80/20 nitrogen-oxygen mix than the air in this room.”

    For the sake of clarity of mood and intent, I probably should’ve put a smiley face somewhere within the comment of mine you reference. For I am not dogmatic or critical about one’s pop preferences, period, or especially in terms of any racial corollary that goes within such a pattern or not. But I do notice racial affiliations within pop and I guess I disagree with you in that one can be ‘white’ or ‘black’ or ‘mixed’ and yet like, deeply, pop genre that are almost entirely performed by a race alien to this given listener.

    Or: adhering to a perspective and consistency of pop and race that you suggest in yoru reply to me, I might say that I could easily like deeply as a youth artists as varied as Led Zeppelin and Rick James, Rolling Stones and James Brown because, in my particular case, that WOULD be remaining consistent to my racial essence—– both, et.al, are in my blood, in terms of listening taste and in term of performing inclinations and appreciations.

    Plus, what I’m about to quickly note in the my next reply, this one from LBF, may or may not b e something you’re tuned into (not to once more over-presume something relating to your being a u.s. immigrant).

    It’s weird to recall how immensely popular Styx were among American youth in the late 70s-early 80s. I think you had to be there.

    You notice in American youth culture that bridge the 70s and 80s, there’s a clear all-or-nothing-like line of demarcation and delineation re. album-rock dinosaurs like Styx, Kansas and their likes vs. serial punk and wave bands that defined the emerging vanguard, such as the Sex Pistols, Devo, Grandmaster Flash and Blondie, etc. with punk, wave and rap said vanguard.

    unlike today’s mixed-bag anything-goes pop youth, back then allegiances were all or nothing —- NO ONE who liked The Damned and the Replacements also liked Styx and Kansas.

    No one, except me that is: Rush was my guilty pleasure —- which most self-respecting NAMs would never ‘fess up to!

  20. Greatest Camlost’s picks are good, but obviously very generational. I was recently at Quizzo, with a Baby Boomer, who could not understand how Journey’s Greatest Hits was a best selling album.

  21. — 2. Loverboy

    “This Could Be The Night” may well be the best under-appreciated song from the ’80s.

    — “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” and “Baby I Love Your Way” are the best of those songs.

    Those were in fact my least-favorite songs in the original post. They are objectively good and they capture the era, but they don’t do anything for me. I was tempted to list Lobo “I’d Love You to Want Me” for the ’70s but it is too obscure.

    As Lucius mentioned, Mazzy Star’s song, which I found as hypnotic at 23 as I do now, is obscure too though. HERE is a live performance in 1994. From Youtube viewers’ astute observations:

    “Love is so short, forgetting is so long. — Neruda”

    “She’s a real diva. They are rare. Divas don’t sell skin to sell records. On that note, I wish I was her microphone.”

    “That mic is rock hard”

    I played around with labeling each decade with a tagline related to teenage romance. Had good ideas for a few, though it felt forced for others. In an earlier draft I had:

    50s: Innocence
    60s: You can almost see paradise (thinking of the California vibe)
    70s [no good ideas]
    80s [no good ideas]
    90s something along the lines of the “White primal scream” or “White Howl”
    00s: I had a good one: “Love In A Police State”
    10s: [no good ideas]

  22. If I were forced to choose exactly one popular song that is the the all-time best, with no personal or generational bias, I’d point to Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Tuesday’s Gone.” Runner-up: Guns N’ Roses “November Rain.” You can’t ever avoid bias in these subjective fun-exercises, even when dealing with your own varied tastes, and in this case I’m favoring songs in the epic ballad form.

  23. –Unbelievably, I owned BOTH of the Styx double-LPs (Paradise Theatre and Mr Roboto) as a child.

    I have in fact in my mind’s eye a mental picture of me listening to the Paradise Theatre album and reading the lyrics (I’m pretty sure at least one song had to do with coke, but of course that was way over my head) some lonely afternoon in my dad’s living room.

    Given my present tastes, I’m still mildly furious with myself for the fact that, despite my crush on The Go-Gos and my owning a couple of their singles, somehow Revealed Preference reveals I didn’t love them enough to buy the Vacation album, despite it beckoning to me from the Top Ten Albums displays.

    Much later in life, my main squeeze would make me a copy of it and we would often listen to it in the car, so ironically that album became, twenty years after the fact, an important part of my listening life, now forever a part of the 2003-04 era of LTR. Though as to Beauty and the Beat, she bought a copy shortly after and was listening to it a lot, she said, but she found it “dark”. We talked a bit about this yet somehow I’m sure we never got around to listening to it together.

  24. unlike today’s mixed-bag anything-goes pop youth, back then allegiances were all or nothing —- NO ONE who liked The Damned and the Replacements also liked Styx and Kansas.

    That’s EXACTLY right. Today’s youth listen to a much wider mix of different music genres than when we were kids.

    But multi-ethnic bands really haven’t evolved or advanced very much. I’d say that the artistry quality of the old multi-racial groups like Sly & The Family Stone or Average White Band far outpace the somewhat pathetic PC attempts you see at multi-racial bands today (like the Black-eyed peas) – they all come off artificial and forced to me, as if they were formed based on tryouts at the mall instead of through really growing together organically.

    The early-mid 20’s kids that I manage play a radio during the day back in our cubes. In one week it may be one day of country, 2-3 days of the local “hot hits” top 40 station (Rihanna, Justin Timberlake, Adele, etc.), 1 day on the “alternative” station and sometimes even the local R&B/Rap station (but our company President will always change that station if he walks through).

  25. “NO ONE who liked The Damned and the Replacements also liked Styx and Kansas.”

    Yup. Steve Jones, ex-Sex Pistols guitarist and DJ who has a popular radio show in LA, has admitted many times that back in the ’70s-80s he loved bands like Journey but was reluctant to admit it to his band mates and punk friends because it wasn’t “cool.” lol

  26. “Little River Band, whose songs I occasionally play on Youtube.”

    I do (did) the same thing. Great band. My LRB go-to tunes are ‘Reminiscing’ and ‘Lady.’ Can’t get enough. ‘Cool Change is good too.

  27. Since you people haven’t mocked my musical tastes yet, I guess I can admit that I loooove Eddie Money, Boston and Starship, too. 🙂 I’ve also decided that liberals have killed music.

    You can’t even have a great video anymore (ahem ** Rebecca de Mornay) because no MTV directors would care about flyover country. Rebecca was quite special as the “bad girl” during my early adolescence. (along with Tawny Kitaen). I get quite quite nostalgic about this one:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32ScTb6_KHg .

    And this song would get lambasted for “cultural appropration”:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTQbiNvZqaY .

  28. I question the choice of “Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing” (1998) by Aerosmith.

    Yeah, that one is unremarkable to me. But I love that other slow, country-ballad-like tune of theirs from the same era, “What it Takes,” which IMO has good lyrics and a nice sorta melodic-sweet-sad melancholy that fits perfectly alongside those heartbreak lyrics, which is what a good country-rock ballad must do to succeed. Aerosmith is another ‘guilty pleasure’ of mine. I like best that ’80s comeback abum of theirs, the one that has “Hangman’s Jury” on it and those other sorta rootsy acoustic-blues and slide-guitar tunes on it.

    @Cam, re. Starship and Toto: this is an entirely aesthetic beef, but what also stands out to me re. 80s pop is that hideous beta digital percussion and MIDI synthesized everything; that was the start of the modern-contemporary period of pop-rock, in which I would suggest the technological possibilities of sound reproduction and recording began to wildly outpace the individual talents and charms of the human songwriting instrumental performance and lyricizing; i.e., Hendrix, Clapton, the early-era Van Halen and other groups or individuals who stressed virtuoso instrument performance. IOW: Hendrix and Clapton’s chops are no match for late 20th-century post-production hi-jinx.

  29. @Cam, re. Starship and Toto: this is an entirely aesthetic beef, but what also stands out to me re. 80s pop is that hideous beta digital percussion and MIDI synthesized everything; that was the start of the modern-contemporary period of pop-rock, in which I would suggest the technological possibilities of sound reproduction and recording began to wildly outpace the individual talents and charms of the human songwriting instrumental performance and lyricizing;

    Yeah, well said.

    But the synthesizers and other stuff doesn’t bother me as much because I have zero musical ability and never learned notes or an instrument.

  30. The only song I know from Billy Squier is “Everybody Wants You”. I still hear it on the radio from time to time.
    I’ve never heard of Mazzy Star, but I like “Fade Into You”. I looked up the biography of the lead singer, Hope Sandoval. She grew up in East L.A. and is of Mexican ancestry. She is someone who really came out of nowhere and had some success.

  31. Billy Squire had Talent. Big voice and natural aggressive guitar. I don’t know what was wrong with him in that video, other than

    He’s not gay, he’s English

    His Greatest Hits album is one foot stomper after the next.

    The song Stroke Me, which song does not have that lyric as its title, coincided with early adolescence, and was very popular. Like The Twist, it musta been a stand-in for you-know-what.

    Hilariously though, Billy insisted in an interview that it was not about the old in-and-out but rather instead a metaphor on massaging egos and sucking up.

    At the time such an explanation came across as implausible in the extreme but now i buy it.

    If you’re in the game
    then the stroke’s the word

    The guitar and the voice in that song is monster, and defines the cliche of raw, particularly the six 16th-note riff on (i think) the E-minor pentatonic.

    Have a listen.

  32. What great lyrics. The song and lyrics are credit both to William Haislip Squier.

    On his wiki it says he born in Wellesley Massachusetts! With his name and looks it is hard to believe he is not 100 per cent English. I guess we got some of their talent.

    His hits were all top-notch. Though they can be criticized as formulaic — it was a winning formula.

  33. How great was the Walkman? Aside from the name of the device–every iteration that wasn’t a Sony was always called a Walkman when used in conversation, much like every tissue is called a Kleenex–but you could take your tapes with you and if you got tired of that, or the battery got too low, you could then listen to the radio on the go, with those funny, poofy headphones.

    I recall using an old walkman back when I was around 8 to listen to while biking around my neighborhood, but only lasted until Bon Jovi’s You Give Love A Bad Name had ended.

    Then, in some type of Rain Man-esque kind of way, I rediscovered the walkman again when I was in high school, when my musical interests had grown–listening to the oldies on the radio with my pops during the summer had helped–and a whole new world was opened to me.

    I know the iPod gets it’s share of “oohs” and “ahhs” but the Walkman was brilliant. And while it was a precursor for the iPod, I still think the Walkman was better.

  34. Funny you mentioned ‘Africa’ by Toto. I liked this song when it first came out (video was cool, too). Recently some young Millennial guys of my acquaintance have been playing this song non-stop. I wonder if it appeared in a movie or something.

  35. LBF, more than likely they heard it from the video game Grand Theft Auto or possibly a Family Guy episode.

    In fact, I do know it was used in a Family Guy episode some years ago. That could be it.

  36. more than likely they heard it from the video game Grand Theft Auto or possibly a Family Guy episode.

    IHahah! That’s hilarious; I witnessed as much a few years ago; this one special-ed ghetto kid, who had some sort -of OCD tic and stutter, would run round the classroom studio at this performing arts school, singing the title lyrics to Aerosmith’s “Duuuude, Looks Like a Layyyydeee!” over-and-over-and-over again.

    So, I’m scratching my head and go, hey, ‘Ricky’: “where’d you ever hear that song? as he was 16 or so and not around any retro-rock clic….. Anyhow, it turns out he simply learned it from that one ‘rock star’ game of several years back? Y’now, the one where you sort-of play the video onscreen coordinates on a plastic mock-guitar? Wasn’t that called Rock Star?

    Oh well, time for the Bucks to take re-command of their series. Fear the Deer!

  37. Born in 1946, forward edge of the WW2 baby boomers. Both parents were Marine Corps Veterans. My Father died in 2008. My Mom is now 97 – retired two years ago and is still reasonably robust and too headstrong for her own good. Spent the early years of my childhood with my German Shepherd dog on the campus of Kansas University while my folks worked their way through college and law school together. They maintained a private husband / wife legal practice all their lives.

    Here are a few of the popular songs I most remember from the 50’s and heard mostly on AM radio. All of these selections were sung by young (at the time) White guys. The melodies were simple, the harmonies sweet, the lyrics wholesome (a couple are gospel), the pitch precise, the notes exact, and the rhythms gentle or catchy. Some of them are easy and fun to dance to with a simple East Coast swing.

    The contrast between what I saw then as a pre- and early-teen and what I see now at age 71 is stark, to say the least. The admixture of anger and hatred toward (((the culture and nation destroyers))) who have done this burns deep and black in my soul. My wife and I do what we can financially and otherwise to support HAC at the NWF.

    Anyway…

    Andy Williams

    Moon River: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_jgIezosVA
    Are You Sincere: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dx4XvFp_pHI

    Crew Cuts

    Sh Boom Sh Boom: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9G0-4TWwew

    Everly Bothers

    Walk Right Back: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORbgJxhf7eg

    Ricky Nelson

    Poor Little Fool: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5UDiQC3RDs

    Pat Boone

    Everybody’s Going to Going to Have a Wonderful Time Up There:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjBRSkP9S9A .

    Love Letters in the Sand: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ENzT9k1LRs .

    Jimmy Rodgers

    Honeycomb: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1ubG2f1-to&index=2&list=RD9kg1GEOg8k8
    Kisses Sweeter Than Wine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kg1GEOg8k8&list=RD9kg1GEOg8k8#t=80

    Teddy Bears

    To Know Him Is To Love Him: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Li6vl4MQy7A

    Elvis Presley

    Be My Little Good Luck Charm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0gx4kPDW0w
    There Will Be Peace in the Valley: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nodeNzrQ_Y
    All Shook Up: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rQEbQJx5Bo&list=RD_ebEIzcf0Dk&index=14

  38. IIRC Houellebecq was talking about his protagonist’s retro or romantic outlook on romance and girls, despite his coming of age in the sexual revolution, and his point was that it wasn’t so much the contemporaneous songs that shaped his views, formed his ideals, expectations, hopes, but the songs from 10 years or so earlier that he grew up with. I think Nick Hornby made a similar point in his book ‘Hi-Fidelity.’

  39. Andrew, I’m familiar with several of those artist but not the songs in most cases. Checking them out now. I’m enjoying the Teddy Bears song. Played it twice.

  40. I think that “West End Girls” was the best pop song of the 80’s.

    A lot of people don’t remember but the Pet Shop Boys were 30 years ahead of their time on the gay rights stuff. Everybody knew that Liberace and Elton John were gay but those two kept their mouth shut. (Elton John was too talented to blacklist, anyway)

    They were vocal about it before it became so fashionable with the MSM, and they paid a high price for it in their careers – but do these new age social media liberal types give a crap about the sacrifice that they and others made during those days? NOPE

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3j2NYZ8FKs .

  41. Camlost, yeah, I remember that pedo song. Course, I was 10 when it was first played on the radio and of course, I had no clue. It has a great melody, but does have a creepy touch to it…

    “she’s just 16 years old,
    leave her alone, they said

    Yikes!

  42. LOL, I remember that song. The creepy thing in it is that chime-sound you hear at the 12-sec. mark, like something from kids’ fairy tale. It establishes the song’s pedo-stalker character. Sixteen years old… we’re not talking “Lolita” or “Death in Venice.” Girls get the wild fires at that age and used to get married at younger that that. If things were different today and normal 21-year-old men married sixteen-year-old girls, each such couple would have five babies in the first year alone… it’s almost as though that’s how we are designed.

  43. Funny, or rather cool, story involving teenage girls from the other perspective — when they were older than me. At 13, my friend’s parents took me and him for a weekend at their condo in Ocean City, MD. He and I are hanging out on the beach and there is a blanket with three young women nearby. He and I are checking them out, making fun of the chubby one and lusting after the beautiful one in her hot-pink bikini, and that lust changes into aggression toward each other, as we begin to exchange hostile words about “who saw her first.”

    Her two friends go to swim and she is alone. To stake my claim on our imaginary conquest, which in our hormone-addled brains was as real as a grown man’s passion for his franchise football team, I told him that I’m gonna go talk to her. “What?!” he sputtered in disbelief, mouth agape at the unreality of fantasy taking a bold shot at becoming reality.

    I walk over and stand over her, with no idea what to say, so I say “Hi.” I may have told her my name, don’t remember, I do remember the sight of her shielding her eyes from the sun with her hand, and seeming friendly enough. We exchanged one or two sentences and I asked her how old she is. Whatever she was going to say, as long as it’s older than me, I would have taken on faith, even if she said she’s 35. Anything so developed, with such knowing eyes and real-woman legs, so naked but for her bikini, was a woman to me. She said she is seventeen.

    I had no idea what to say after that, so I said something like “OK, see ya later” in faux sexwise voice and went back to my friend, who was looking at me like at an apparition.

  44. Anything so developed, with such knowing eyes and real-woman legs, so naked but for her bikini, was a woman to me. She said she is seventeen.

    Having grown up on the coast, another thing that makes pubescent teen girls look grown in a quick fast hurry is the deep tan from spending many days at the beach. Then she’s moving around, dropping off the old cutoff jean shorts and has the tiny tan lines from the 1-piece. As a teen male you’re just not ready for it quite yet.

    One particularly shocking thing that others may not have seen is the true “beach bum.” And by that I mean someone (male or female) who lives on the coast and purposefully gets a nighttime job (like bartender, etc.) so that they can literally sit out on the beach almost every day of the year.

    I knew a few folks that did that, and they were very arrogant about being natives/locals and never wearing sun screen, and maybe only a hat. By age 35 they’d have the toughened, leathery screen like the old lady from “Something About Mary” but the one thing that always suffered was the nose – the pointy European nose takes such a beating from the sun and it would always look like a peeled tomato on them, with layers and layers of peeling, painful-looking skin.

  45. Nik – There’s also this paen to ‘on-the-brink’ ecstasy:

    LOL @ Winger.

    I think Beavis and Butthead always had a big running gag making fun of them but I never saw those episodes.

    They were probably the weakest of the “W3 triumvirate” – Winger, Warrant, White Lion.

  46. HAHA…Winger! Now that brings back memories of Beavis and Butthead.

    They had a dorky, wannabe friend (their version of Butters a la South Park) that always wore the Winger shirt.

    I only saw a handful of episodes but that stood out.

  47. I know the type. There’s a fine line between beach bums, homeless, and real estate-rich kids who hang out all day. Around here you get a lot of people who inherited their parents’ multi-million dollar house, but who don’t have a lot of cash (enough for taxes, of course) or a regular job. A lot of the people with burned faces, I think, are local alcoholics who pass out in the sun.

  48. O.T.@PA:

    I wondered what you made of this article I read early this morning; I don’t quite understand its specific contention or if its accusation of media patronage is critical or just indifferently discerning:

    [The article is agitprop. It frames US- or Soros-sponsored protests that involve small numbers of SJW activists as some kind of a popular youth movement. Notice how those photos are always close-ups. Orban is shutting down a Soros-funded university whose syllabus someone recently posted on Gab or Twitter. It was what you’d imagine it to be. — PA]

  49. @ Nik – that article was brought to us by the same crowd of people that portrayed Richard Spencer’s Deploraball as some huge, watershed event harnessing a vast ocean of American traditionalists who have now shifted to embrace his WN notion of the alt right (but it only had a whopping 275 attendees).

    Also, Viktor Orban is cracking down on the operations of Soros-backed NGO’s within Hungary, and he’s inspired other surrounding countries to do the same. It’s possible that Soros could be arrested one day if he is not careful or lingers in Hungary.

    I think that Orban’s crackdown can possibly explain why #BLM has been quiet for a long time, with Soros keeping a low profile the money flow through NGO’s that eventually reaches paid $$ protesters has dried up.

  50. @ Nik – also, in Wikileaks it came through quite clear that Soros had a direct line to Hillary, she answered when he called. She also had regular conference calls with other major donors, including Haim Saban, who would often bitch*, whine scream and moan in Hillary’s general direction about anything he didn’t like in the news.

  51. @camlost, I don’t recall that Spencer was the one who had organized or originated the Deploraball. In fact, I think he had only attended, but wasn’t behind getting it underway.

    It was mainly led by Cernovich, Jack Posobeic, and a handful of others.

    Perhaps the NYT wanted to make it seem like Spencer was the architect of the event, which would be about their speed.

  52. @camlost, I don’t recall that Spencer was the one who had organized or originated the Deploraball. In fact, I think he had only attended, but wasn’t behind getting it underway.

    Mendo, you are right I was incorrect. It was the alt-right conference that I meant to say. The one that Spencer held right after Trump won the election.

Leave a Reply

