An Encounter With The Law

The Encounter

I was alone and going about my business in an upscale urban area. At one point I’m about to commit a minor victimless infraction of the law, less serious or obnoxious than dropping a cigarette butt and I hear a sharp directive: “Don’t do X!”

He’s White, older than me, hawkish face. Expensive athletic gear with small cargo pouches. He wasn’t some middle-aged weirdo I could shrug off; he had a predatory, highly intelligent face and dead-serious eyes. I recognize command presence from my Army days and he had it — not like an executive, but rather like someone accustomed to physical training. Maybe a retired colonel. He was smaller than me but looked fit and ready to pounce. This wasn’t some goofy citizen do-gooder. A cop? I wondered. More like an agent.

I asked politely: “Are you a police officer?”

He said something, I don’t recall what now, so I turned away to go on with my business.

“I didn’t say if I was or wasn’t,” he said with authority.

“Are you a police officer?” I asked him again, this time in a controlled angry tone (I was getting angry) but mindful of keeping my body still and non-aggressive. This was during the day and there were other people around. He moved past me, giving me a one-sentence lecture on infraction X and capped it off with “Dumbass!”

OK, he started it with the profanity so I said “Fuck you.” I wasn’t completely ready to let go of the possibility that this was just some amateur asshole with nothing better to do.

He blocks my path. The way he pivoted and squared up was 100% professional. He points at me with his finger and starts on again about something. Adrenaline now kicking, I wasn’t committing his words to short-term memory. My anger started redlining but I maintained full self-control and situational awareness. Body still, hands relaxed. Drilling him him my eyes, I ordered him to get his finger out of my personal space.

And this is when I became certain that he’s a cop — for a split second, he lost his mojo. He checked himself as though to make sure he isn’t in fact breaking some procedure and then he recovered and said “My finger is not in your personal space.”

“I feel like it is in my personal space.”

He dropped his hand and yapped on about something (I’m buzzing hard with pre-fight at this point and not hearing him), we eyeballed each other for another second or two, then I upnodded and said “Go.” He turned to leave — but one more thing happened. A police car was slowly moving past us in heavy traffic. He gestures for it to stop, looks at me petulantly and asks:

“Would you like to have a conversation with law enforcement right now?”

My hard gaze is not illegal, I thought, and neither is speaking with a firm tone of voice. Throughout, I consciously walked the thin line of avoiding arrest over rash behavior while not acting intimidated. He was probably wired and cops view films for training, or maybe to guffaw among each other about their interactions with the public — so I wasn’t keen on giving him anything to gloat over.

“No.” That was my contemptuous response. He waved for the cop car to move on, and that was the end of it.

My Attitude About Police

I don’t break the law and I have instinctive respect for legitimate authority. I recognize that an officer is doing his job in stopping me from committing a very minor misdemeanor. The police state needs to go but I don’t blame individual cops; more of us than would care to admit are cogs in the beast’s machine.

I have no illusions about where many cops’ loyalty lies but that’s irrelevant to the above encounter.

After-Action Review

There are always lessons-learned. Hindsight is 50-50, especially in situations one does not train for. Even people who always act in good faith can find themselves in over their heads with the law. Disorderly Conduct is another word for “I just felt like arresting him.”

In the cop’s case, he blew it and he’s probably kicking himself over it. He may have been in a bad mood from the start, and confronted me over infraction X impulsively. He didn’t expect my clear-headed first question and my non-submissiveness. He started off-balance and never recovered, digging himself deeper with each face-saving gesture. His unforced error was calling me a name. Professionals don’t let things become personal and he did.

In my case, I was caught off-guard by the confrontation but psychologically prepared. My past experience, reading, and rehearsing various scenarios in my mind allowed me to comport myself in a way that I don’t overall regret.

Here is what I did wrong:

– Attempting to do X.

– My firmness wavered once because of his authoritative appearance and tone, plus I was still processing the fact that I should be careful if he’s a cop.

– The uncertainty as to his status as in fact a cop, or just some dork with a big mouth (in which case I wanna make it personal right back) put me on indecisive footing. The solution to the uncertainty would have been to not make it personal either way.

– I could have deescalated. For example, upon his initial challenge I could have shrugged and said: “Yeah, you’re right” or just ignored him. Should have also let it go when he yelled that insult.

Here is what I did right:

– Good judgment in listening to my spidey sense that he could be a cop.

– Telling him to get his finger out of my personal space and then holding that frame was awesome.

– I didn’t act disrespectfully: no frivolity, no smirking, no arrogance.

– Keeping the escalation below fight levels; even if he weren’t a cop, never underestimate an opponent. That’s how a larger man once lost a fight with me.

– Knowing that haste makes waste. My thoughts weren’t completely clear once blood pumped but I paused before blurting out the first things that came to my head.

– Never be obsequious, even if you’re afraid. It triggers cruelty and in a best-scenario outcome, you still feel compromised. Here, I did well.

Summary

Every important experience should be followed by an honest analysis. My overall lesson: deescalate in such a confrontation (which I didn’t do) and keep your poise (which I did). The place is crawling with feds; in another time and place, it could have been wise guys. You never know who you’re dealing with, so keep your cool while minding the Jumbotron.

25 thoughts on “An Encounter With The Law

  1. Damn! I guess they’re really cracking down on street prostitution now. Dude, just use online dating. It’s safer.

  2. Joking aside, that was pretty cool. I almost always escalate. Sometimes I can’t believe the shit that comes out of my mouth in dealing with cocky American peckerheads. It’s all about your size, stance, tone, build. Maintain frame. No emotion. Don’t back down. Of course, being German, I don’t commit minor victimless infractions of the law, so these situations don’t come up much.

  3. “…cracking down on street prostitution…”

    LMFAO.

    “Keeping the escalation below fight levels…”

    Quite difficult to do at times. I went to jail for a couple days after hitting a cop once. Charges later dropped. Not doing so would have been partially wading into those low-T waters of obsequiousness you speak of. Honor comes first.

  4. I suspect this man was angry about something else and was taking it out on you. I think you handled it well.
    It’s funny that blacks hate the police so much, since they are the only thing standing between them and white nationalists.

  5. PA, you are ALREADY a criminal – all the time and every place.

    Begging and scraping, saying how “law abiding” and “gentle” you are doesn’t help. They don’t have mercy for whites. White men should never disarm themselves, in any fashion.

    White genocide is the law and your very life is hated by the system that pig serves.

    All cops and soldiers serve the system. Their loyalty is to the dollar.

    You “should” know that, write it on top of your post, highlight it. You can’t trust them. They’ve screwed WN for decades in the USA, protecting Muzz pimps in England, Muzz rapists in Germany. White cops protect system elites; without them, Murka is already third world.

    The only thing which stops WN is the police. You should hate them with a passion.

  6. — Damn! I guess they’re really cracking down on street prostitution now. (LBF)

    Well, I do keep it upscale.

    PS: Elk got it. It wasn’t spitting.

    My guesses in retrospect as to who he was, from most to less likely:

    A quasi-deputized community safety hall monitor or such, with a past career in law or military.

    On-duty undercover cop.

    A fed who couldn’t help himself and then backtracked to avoid stepping on local PD’s toes.

    An off-duty or out-of-jurisdiction cop.

    An ordinary civilian buffoon.

  7. I found a video once of a pig begging for his life. One of the sweetest sounds I’ve ever heard. Help! Helppppppppp!

    I recommend it. It takes away all that worship that the uniform gets. You will never look at pigs the same way again, guaranteed.

  8. Pingback: An Encounter With The Law | Reaction Times

  9. I don’t enjoy watching any man be humiliated like that. I was hoping Lance Carr was white, but he looks at least half black. I’m starting to think what this country desperately needs is a scary white criminal class.

  10. As to crime, more Vincent ‘Chin’ Gigantes, less Martin Shkrelis. And anarchism is for Mexico and select regions of the sea. Cops are inevitably a part of the farm too. (Lindy effect)

  11. This country DOES need a scary white criminal class.

    You know it under a different word: enforcement.

    All groups have enforcers. Jihadis enforce Shari law in Europe. Cops enforce Murkan law here, while soldiers enforce the USA’s wishes abroad.

    White nationalism has no, or very few enforcers. That is why we are mocked, and it is why PA put that little disclaimer thing in his post, about how law-abiding he is – because he wants to avoid our enemy’s enforcers.

    White women have a part to play. Women love violent men. That’s why they flock to soldiers, cops, and their criminal equivalents. It’s also why they feel more for Muzz rapists than Euro cucks who allow it to happen.

    Feminism will evaporate when white men become more violent. Nothing arouses more respect than seeing a man in the throws of violent passion. The molls of criminals are not butch. They play groupie, we gotta play rock star.

  12. We need to encourage and promote the neo-Nazi skinheads, biker gangs, Chad Nationalists, and fascist bodybuilders in our community.

  13. That is a fascinating watch of the Brooklyn Park police officer getting beat on by the thug Lance Carr, who i also thought looked white in the video, but he is a light-skinned black.

    Brooklyn Park is a Twin Cities suburb that (parts of) went bad about 20 years ago. Before then it was typical middle-class mostly white metro. Mr Carr has a not unusual look for blacks around here (and not just in that he is ugly).

    I agree with Lara that is unpleasant to see men, even such as that pig, humiliated. He was screaming like a bitch. I can’t believe that he can show his face, among his peers and down at city hall, or anywhere in that community.

    Not all cops have what it takes, to make a living as “someone with a gun.” In fact what percentage of them do? and no one can ever know until they are put to the test.

    This video is also a fascinating watch, and has similar themes about violence and what passes for justice in a hard life,

    Earl Forrest was a drug dealer from California and Missouri and got drunk and went and killed an associate who owed him some respect (and a riding lawn mower), and the guy who was with her, and then a sheriff’s deputy who came to get him.

    His BAC was .4 at the time of the shootout, and yet he still was accurate with a sidearm and in command.

    But what he said when asked whether he regretted killing the deputy (who was a woman), he said no because she was someone who made her living carrying a gun.

    His whole demeanor and perspective is very hard-line, even just a week from his appointment, and his take on it all is articulate and perceptive. He says that high level drug dealers are like rock stars.

    The other thing about that interview that sticks out, is the local lame stream reporter keeps insisting on the question, was it worth it, all that killing over a lawn mower? and just refuses to see that it was not about a lawn mower, it was about the (dis)respect it represented and a hard man’s reputation — his honor, if you will.

  14. Ryu, that was not a disclaimer. I did’t confess to anything in this post besides attempted jaywalking. It was a straightforward statement of my position on cops. I don’t hate cops. As a whole, they are a tool of the state, nothing more and nothing less. If you start hating them, it becomes logical to also hate public school teachers, and on goes the hate spiral. Like I said, many of us are cogs in the Beast machine. You work for a company that has federal contracts? there ya go.

    If homeschooling became illegal and a cop is kicking in my door, it’s a bullet between his eyes. Still, no hate and nothing personal. Just an enemy combatant.

    In the old South, local cops covered for vigilantes and did away with Northern agitators. In 1990, I saw a White cop in Jacksonville FL chase away a group of black teens who were hanging around at a mall. He did it in the perfect Hollywood cliche racist cop manner.

    PS: you’ve written a lot on the subject of field tactics. How would you have handled my situation? — some jackass challenges you, you think he might be a cop, he’s got nothing on you.

  15. Cops are easy to tell. They have a particular bearing, dress, haircut, shoes, and so on. It is true that cops and cons recognized one another almost immediately.

    If someone challenges me, I wait until a time and place of my choosing. Just like being a cop off duty or out of uniform, it is often best to be a good witness.

    The problem is that “everyone” (without state permission) who is impulsive gets caught. It is true for every crime, from homicide and assault on down to larceny.

    Cops rely upon surprise. He caught you by surprise too. Once caught in someone else’s web, it is hard to get out. Better to escape, then weave your own web.

    There is….another world out there for those who want it.

    I have seen DAAs kill cops and get away with it. That is the hardest thing of all. The homicide clearance rate for dead cops is greater than 99%. People who can get away with that are gods.

    Cases like this make me believe in white supremacy.
    http://swordandscale.com/the-unsolved-murder-of-officer-jason-ellis/

  16. Ya done good PA. I would possibly have held your frame until the cop threat. At that point I’d be all ‘yea let’s go talk to the cop fuckface,’ but your idea was better.

  17. — but your idea was better (Rusty Snail)

    It was tempting to call his bluff and tell the uniformed cops “yes, this jackass assaulted me, blocked my path, and impersonated a police officer.” But like you say, not a good idea. I’d have been one wolf against three tigers.

  18. Another way to deescalate before things get to the point where honor is at stake: say “Look, we got off on the wrong foot. Let’s start gain — ” You have to say it if not from a position of strength, then at least with a fearless frame to make it not seem like you’re trying to talk your way out of a beat-down.

    As I understand it, deescalation is a big part of CCW training.

  19. It generally depends on what sort of mood I am in. I have no love for police as I realize police and criminals are two sides of the same coin. That being said as ex military many former friends work in some capacity for DOJ etc. I live in MD where police are tax collectors with guns, very little pro active policing and crime solving. It can make you hate police.

  20. Really doubt that this guy was any kind of cop. When police are off-duty, the LAST thing they want to do is get involved in any of that law enforcement BS. Forty hours (plus voluntold OT) is enough of that $#!t, ya know? It’s gotta be a WHOLE lot more important than attempted mopery with intent to creep, in order to get an off-duty LEO to lumber into action.

    Also, you should realize that in any encounter of this kind, the shoe is firmly upon the “civilian” foot. Citizen complaints are the tail that wags the PD dog, and cops are deathly afraid of internal discipline and, further down the line, potential lawsuits based on abuse of police powers. In fact, most PDs discourage their officers from getting into off-duty action because of this threat of lawsuits, and tell their employees to simply act as “good witnesses” in all but the direst situations.

    Agree that this guy was some kind of trouble, though. Probably likes to fight, has had some good training (formal or informal), and was working himself up for an attack. However you presented yourself short-circuited his “interview” of you as a target/chump and defused the situation into “I’ll tell on you to authority.” Well done from a survival standpoint, because you NEVER know who or what you’re up against in the street.

Leave a Reply

