“Because We Live Here” in Hungarian

Hungarian security forces are affixing eerie masks on their southern border fence to stop migrants from crossing into their country. Predictably (and oblivious to the obvious alternative), the director of the so-called Human Rights Watch strongly criticized Hungarian politician Gyorgy Schopflin of the nation’s ruling Fidesz party and then tweeted: “Refugees are fleeing war & torture, Hungary. Your root vegetable heads will not deter them.”

Mr. Schopflin agreed-and-amplified: “Might do so. Human images are haram. But agree, pig’s head would deter more effectively.”

mask5

But perhaps instead of masks, Hungarians could have posted signs in appropriate languages that state something like what I drafted here:

“Dear travelers from the Middle East and Africa, we understand that you have your reasons for desiring entry into Hungary. However, letting you in would subject our nation to one or more of these scenarios: one, having to accommodate your growingly intolerable presence; two, becoming you through the intermarriage of our daughters with you; or three, a civil war. None of those things are acceptable to us because they would inflict preventable suffering on the Hungarian people, and we have nowhere else to go. In fact, we are fond our ancestral homeland.

We also understand that many of you ask for no more than our permission to pass through our country toward your final destination in the U.K. or Germany. On that matter we considered the headaches with the EU and the Americans we’d be saving ourselves by playing the game of “eat us last,” but the answer is still No.

If this forthright message does not convince you to turn away from our border, then we will display creepy masks. Should those fail to make it clear that we don’t want you invading our home, we will enforce our territorial integrity with the use of deadly force. We wish you a safe and pleasant journey back to your homes. Goodbye.”

Nah. The masks already say all of that. As reported:

The account posting the images said that the masks were made in part out of carved sugar beet root and that no migrants had reportedly crossed in the areas where the scarecrows had been put up in the past month.

The Hungarian government understands something I’ve said before: non-Whites are deeply superstitious. Find their button and watch them run. For example, U.S. Southerners used cheesy Celtic rites and costumes to spook would-be black predators during the lawless Reconstruction era.

90 thoughts on ““Because We Live Here” in Hungarian

  1. In addition to displaying the slaughtered pigs’ heads on fences and gates the Hungarians could also start the rumor that they’ve smeared pig blood along any routes they didn’t want the refugees to take, and then post signs announcing it. It would work like a charm.

    In the 1850’s there was a huge rebellion in India by Muslim and Hindu mercenaries of the British Empire partly on the mere suggestion that animal fat was used as lubrication in ammo cartridges issued to them by the British East India company.

  2. Pingback: “Because We Live Here” in Hungarian | Reaction Times

  3. Those masks are pretty rad. I love creepy stuff like that. There’s a reason Halloween is my favourite time of year.

  4. Love the Native European folk art.

    Yeah, seriously. It’s just some harmless folklore. Why does Human Rights Watch hate folklore?

  5. Good stuff. Minos believe in all manner of superstition.

    This is an expression of what FP used to write about: atavism. The white man has to return to his roots. I remember when Vlad impaled thousands of Muzz corpses and left them there as a warning.

  6. PA, I don’t know if you noticed the link at the bottom of the page but it talks about how Viktor Orban is also invoking memories of the Ottoman invasions of Hungary:

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/09/04/hungarys-orban-invokes-ottoman-invasion-to-justify-keeping-refugees-out/

    In fact, during Poland’s high period as a trading empire they fought several wars against Ottoman expansion from the 15th to 17th centuries, often while aligned with the Habsburgs in Southern/Central Europe:

    http://poloniaottomanica.blogspot.com/p/overview-of-polishottoman-history.html

    Even as late as 150 years ago all of Europe would still be quite terrified of any Muslim expansion, what a shame to just let Islamic civilization just walk in here and gain victory in the 21st century…

  7. Camlost, interesting reading in that second link (fyi, more than one link in a comment trips the mod filter). For what it’s worth, past ottoman invasions were professional armies, this invasion is literally beggars.

    An thing I read on one of the Polish language sites today, cant vouch for its credibility as I’m not familiar with it : reportedly according to a leak, US and Greatest Ally intel agencies are planning a major provocation in Poland to trigger a Polish-Russian conflict that is to spread westward. That, according to the article, is likely why Germans were recently advised to stockpile on food.

  8. Ryu, yes, FP wrote a lot of insightful things a few years ago that sounded radical to some at the time but are becoming common sense now.

  9. …a lot of insightful things a few years ago that sounded radical to some at the time but are becoming common sense now.

    I remember Nikcrit years ago repeatedly expressing incredulity that the alt-right would ever cross over into the mainstream. Now Grandma Hillary is about to give a big anti alt-right speech, which I predict will backfire.

    Anyway, I’m just gonna sit back and drink a tall glass of “I told ya so” 🙂

  10. This is an expression of what FP used to write about: atavism. The white man has to return to his roots. I remember when Vlad impaled thousands of Muzz corpses and left them there as a warning.

    Apparently he insisted the sticks were just the right size, and lubed just so, for maximum agony. (no joke)

    I remember Nikcrit years ago repeatedly expressing incredulity that the alt-right would ever cross over into the mainstream.

    The phrase, existential crisis, in its fate-of-nations sense, and not in the popular parlance meaning of the 50s, has come into the mainstream. I think that the alt-right gets credit for that.

  11. Hillary is about to unleash a shitstorm of real talk that she is not prepared to address.

    She is a like a geriatric Marie Antoinette who doesn’t realize that whites are completely fed up with the constant racial haranguing, white vilification, and the flat out lies that Left tells about race. Grandma Hillary doesn’t realize that it isn’t the 1990’s anymore. The ground beneath her has shifted, radically, in ways she doesn’t realize because she is frankly, very old and out of touch. Millions of Americans really want to have an honest discussion about race as Eric Holder admonished us to do. But we are going to do it in a way that Hillary won’t like. Her speech on the alt-right will force that conversation, will draw millions of eyeballs to the alt-right and the hatefacts that the MSM tries so desperately to contain.

  12. She is a like a geriatric Marie Antoinette who doesn’t realize that whites are completely fed up with the constant racial haranguing, white vilification, and the flat out lies that Left tells about race.

    Yep.

    WordPress better get some new servers to hold all of the increased traffic. PA, be ready for your site to crash with the huge uptick in visitors. If you’ve been holding back on some prized material, now is the time.

    Even Sorcery God’s train wreck of a site could’ve garnered some commenters with all of the millions of new dabblers, curiosity lurkers and fellow travelers that will be driven to the alt right after this.

  13. be ready for your site to crash with the huge uptick in visitors. If you’ve been holding back on some prized material, now is the time.

    Ive slacked on the racist posts. Time to get back to it.

  14. Wait. I thought the Alt-Right was supposed to be a bunch of teenagers jerking off to anime and autistic shut-ins living in their parents’ basement.

    And yet, the elites feel sufficiently threatened to devote a whole speech by a major presidential candidate to denouncing it.

    They’re scared!

  15. Look like Trickin’s journalism career is back on, as it won’t be long until MSNBC starts putting him on panels (next to Rachel Maddow and Van Jones) as the liberal expert on the alt right. 🙂 🙂

  16. Wait. I thought the Alt-Right was supposed to be a bunch of teenagers jerking off to anime and autistic shut-ins living in their parents’ basement.

    And yet, the elites feel sufficiently threatened to devote a whole speech by a major presidential candidate to denouncing it.

    Well said. I honestly don’t know what to make of this. As probably the most “traditional” pro-military and pro-law enforcement commenter here I must admit that I’ve been scared for the alt right to go mainstream too soon, in hopes of getting as many of our objectives accomplished by traditional political means as possible. I guess that kind of half-assery isn’t a possibility now, especially considered Trump’s recent campaign hires.

    The board is set, the pieces are moving. We come to it at last…
    The great battle of our time.

  17. — As probably the most “traditional” pro-military and pro-law enforcement commenter here I must admit that I’ve been scared for the alt right to go mainstream too soon, in hopes of getting as many of our objectives accomplished by traditional political means as possible. I guess that kind of half-assery isn’t a possibility now (Camlost)

    I thought about this comment a bit. Especially the last sentence. I used to be very “traditional” on cops and military, myself being an Army vet who was very hooah! about it at the time. My thought changed over time, especially influenced by Fred Reed’s columns ten years ago.

    On cops, ones in my jurisdiction come across as good guys but the unanswered question is, what will they do if ordered to knock on our doors and grab our guns?

  18. At present I don’t think Law Enforcement (of any branch) would yet participate in any door-to-door play against private weapons ownership. Even the Maoist regimes of Jerry Brown or Bloomberg/DiBlasio haven’t tried as of yet, their unilateral activity against weapons has mainly consisted of sending pissy little letters to gun owners asking them to voluntarily send in X or Y weapon for some feeble new reason.

  19. “past ottoman invasions were professional armies, this invasion is literally beggars”

    Speaking of which, anyone remember what happened to the Children’s Crusade?

  20. PA, don’t lie to yourself.

    Cops and soldiers do one thing – follow orders. If they don’t, we fire them and hire some 18 year olds to do the same job. Obediance is what both learn first and last in their jobs and in academy/basic.

    The greatest obstacle to WN is the white cop/soldier. He sold his ass to our enemies for money. They’ve never done anything for WN other than lock us up or shoot us.

    Don’t forget cops locking down Boston for 3 days, kicking people out of their homes to do searches. All those cops there are white.

    And Katrina, going door to door to take guns. It already happened.

  21. You’ll become far more revolutionary when you understand cops and soldiers are not friends of WN, PA.

    For a long time, I looked for just one WN, true blue cop. Not just a racist cop, but one who knew about the jews, the American police state, 911, all of it.

    I succeeded. He has supported everything I’ve written about them. His comments are very much my own. Of course, he has to protect his identity jealously, as the Americans would fire him in a microsecond if he didn’t tow their line. Email me, and I’ll give you some of his quotes.

  22. Ryu, I have no illusions about cops or soldiers. Sometimes they turn on their masters. Usually they don’t. Either way, it doesn’t hurt to know local cops personally and be friends with them.

  23. For the past 15 years I’ve been urging WNs to initiate outreach efforts to military and LE.
    Several years ago, when I was more active in the streets, my group recruited among Marines at nearby Camp Pendleton. These young men were hardcore Nazis. I still think veterans are a promising group.

  24. “I remember Nikcrit years ago repeatedly expressing incredulity that the alt-right would ever cross over into the mainstream. Now Grandma Hillary is about to give a big anti alt-right speech, which I predict will backfire.”

    (sigh). Very selective memories, dude. I’ve given much more nuanced predictions and forecasts; the subject’s been constant in many discussions here. So why now make some base, reductive claim for the sake of a rhetorical point—– and a rather half-assed one at that?

  25. (sigh). Very selective memories, dude. I’ve given much more nuanced predictions and forecasts; the subject’s been constant in many discussions here. So why now make some base, reductive claim for the sake of a rhetorical point—– and a rather half-assed one at that?

    OK OK I’m sometimes just trying to score points. Cheap ones I guess. Sorry.

    Unrelated question- I think a lot about your musings about the encounters you have with celebrities and the all the various “charmed life” people you have encountered. I am really intrigued by some of your observations, specifically how you seem to think they don’t have it as good as we might think. The reason I am asking you is because I am finally making my way out to California on a temporary gig in an albeit rural assignment in NoCal, but I have negotiated a contract that will afford me plenty of free time to travel throughout the state. Anyway, I have been warned several times recently by people familiar with the LA culture to steer clear of the Hollywood morass… Let me just say, I am not the only one who is enamored by “all that glitters.” I have always been I found, on the whole, I find life to be pretty difficult most of the time… It’s not something I lament or complaint about, it’s simply the way life is and I haven’t expected much else. I am always mindful that it could be far worse. And when I say life is difficult for most people, I believe it is difficult in the most mundane ways possible that never lead to any kind of exalted outcome once overcome… it’s the grind of poverty, or chronic disease, or loneliness,… those kind of things… problems people just deal with and die with.

    Now, when you tell me that some of these people at the top are so unhappy, I have a hard time actually believing that to be true. I believe when people say that, they must be saying that to make themselves feel better about themselves. What could possibly be bad about being beautiful, rich, or charismatic? You would never be alone, microwaving a frozen lasagna for dinner at night and falling asleep in front of the TV. You would never have to take out a second mortgage to pay for your sick kid’s medical bills. Things like that.

    One example I can think of that would support your argument is a recent corny pop song by Mike Posner entitled “I took a pill in Ibiza.” It is a terrible song that you would hate, but the only reason I paid attention to it is because Posner is a local celebrity (my sister went to high school with him). The lyrics are as follows:

    I took a pill in Ibiza
    To show Avicii I was cool
    And when I finally got sober, felt 10 years older
    But fuck it, it was something to do
    I’m living out in LA
    I drive a sports car just to prove
    I’m a real big baller ’cause I made a million dollars
    And I spend it on girls and shoes

    But you don’t wanna be high like me
    Never really knowing why like me
    You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
    You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
    Never knowing who to trust like this
    You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
    Stuck up on that stage singing
    All I know are sad songs, sad songs
    Darling, all I know are sad songs, sad songs

    I’m just a singer who already blew his shot
    I get along with old timers
    ‘Cause my name’s a reminder of a pop song people forgot
    And I can’t keep a girl, no
    ‘Cause as soon as the sun comes up
    I cut ’em all loose and work’s my excuse
    But the truth is I can’t open up

    But you don’t wanna be high like me
    Never really knowing why like me
    You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
    You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
    Never knowing who to trust like this
    You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
    Stuck up on that stage singing
    All I know are sad songs, sad songs
    Darling, all I know are sad songs, sad songs

    I took a plane to my home town
    I brought my pride and my guitar
    All my friends are all gone but there’s manicured lawns
    And the people still think I’m a star
    I walked around downtown
    I met some fans on Lafayette
    They said tell us how to make it ’cause we’re getting real impatient
    So I looked ’em in the eye and said

    You don’t wanna be high like me
    Never really knowing why like me
    You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
    You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
    Never knowing who to trust like this
    You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
    Stuck up on that stage singing
    All that I know are sad songs, sad songs
    Darling, all that I know are sad songs, sad songs

    Now, most people would have a hard time imagining that this person with a charmed life like that could only know “sad songs.” But you seem to understand that dynamic. Anyway, I am just curious about it and thought you might be able to illuminate this problem. Excuse the long comment.

  26. Loneliness is not abated by money or fame. Sure you can get hookers and false friends. And the other thing not abated by money and fame is aging and death, and witnessing that in everything and everyone you love and care about.

    Bob Dylan has more money than he knows what to do with. (Strike that — he’s a jew he knows what to do with it. Incidentally he apparently spends a lot of time at his place in the countryside not far from here.) And his songs and lyrics speak of the same longing and loneliness that everyone else gets to feel, to the extent that they are not distracted by false idols.

    At the same time life is better with money. What is an analogy. You are paddling upstream to your final destination (not downstream because that way is a huge waterfall) and money is a bigger boat. But whether a nice boat or a rickety raft, it is upstream or downstream and that’s the only ride. You can’t get off the river.

    Posner’s official vid for that song is a rip of the Dylan classic Subterranean Homesick Blues, with the singer in an alley shuffling through a stack of placards containing a double-take on the lyrics. (Which is coincidental since i mentioned Dylan before checking out his video.) Of course it is an acknowledged gimmick; he is not ripping it off.

    Posner is not bad, actually. Not first-tier brilliant, but sincere and better than your average no-account pop-singer.

  27. Sweden may be different, but if an alternate military force gets initiated in the USA it will not lean friendly to conservative or WN goals. In fact, it would be started with the express purpose of being a counter-measure to our white-controlled police and military and would surely be filled with NAM appointees, trannies and other liberals in high positions.

    Obama has done everything possible to try to nationalize everything he can about law enforcement, since ripping local control away puts things in the hands of Washington bureaucrats who can control policy from Washington, often with the threat of pulling or reducing funding.

    Obama said this a few years ago:

    We cannot continue to rely only on our military in order to achieve the national security objectives that we’ve set.

    We’ve got to have a civilian national security force that’s just as powerful, just as strong, just as well-funded.

    In other words, let’s give big dollars to a diverse force headed by Rachel Maddow and Cass Sunstein types who will politicize law enforcement and also stop trying to make NAMs live up to the behavioral standards of whites. It will have a workforce whose etchnical profile resembles the TSA much more than the Air Force.

  28. An alternative military force staffed with trannies, Aztecs, and libtards would be an absolute gift. Yes, please!

  29. Obama is already renaming National Guard Armories as “Readiness Centers,” even when there’s still weapons actually stored inside and the only real change is slapping a new sign out front. Only in Obamerica.

  30. Ha ha. That’s funny about the Swede cops.

    The great “protectors” would rather quit that admit the truth about their Muzz invaders. They won’t stay in, infiltrate, then crush and destroy the system. They’ll just quit. Useless.

    You don’t win by quitting. I love how cops are so tough when they’ve got the power, but when they become one of us, they are docile as sheep.

    Cops and soldiers aren’t revolutionaries – they are servants. When they lose the master’s permission, they become normal people again.

    I can only name one white cop worth anything – Barend Strydom. Too bad he is virtually unknown.
    http://www.conservapedia.com/Barend_Strydom

  31. Ryu…

    I want to know how you make sense of the Strydom Exhibit?

    A healthy-minded “black” Afrikaner would have put that “dog” down.

    A healthy-minded wS wouldn’t be living “free” in South Africa.

  32. Cruella de Pends (not my coinage) is going to deliver her speech on the Alt-Right. This is the most excitement her campaign has generated since its launch.

    Live stream:

  33. Hillary had a minor spokesperson on CNN around 1230pm today giving a preview of this upcoming alt-right talk. The CNN talking head just kept asking if it was a good idea for the Hillary campaign to plant the seed which some people would equate to “you’re a racist if you don’t vote for Hillary” but he didn’t back down one iota or bother to qualify his statement at all, in typical libscreech fashion.

  34. that voice…. I am struggling to keep my headphones on.

    But she’s campaigning for Trump better than Trump has lately.

  35. Barend saw what was necessary, and he did it, regardless of the personal consequences, or what his masters thought. He was a true hero of the white race.

    Did you note that he prayed to God before the op? He prayed for success and he got it.

    Being a WS means walking a higher path. Laws for the commoners do not apply to us. One must be worthy of the privilege.

  36. “Unrelated question- I think a lot about your musings about the encounters you have with celebrities and the all the various “charmed life” people you have encountered. I am really intrigued by some of your observations, specifically how you seem to think they don’t have it as good as we might think. The reason I am asking you is because I am finally making my way out to California on a temporary gig in an albeit rural assignment in NoCal, but I have negotiated a contract that will afford me plenty of free time to travel throughout the state. Anyway, I have been warned several times recently by people familiar with the LA culture to steer clear of the Hollywood morass… Let me just say, I am not the only one who is enamored by “all that glitters.” I have always been I found, on the whole, I find life to be pretty difficult most of the time… It’s not something I lament or complaint about, it’s simply the way life is and I haven’t expected much else. I am always mindful that it could be far worse. And when I say life is difficult for most people, I believe it is difficult in the most mundane ways possible that never lead to any kind of exalted outcome once overcome… it’s the grind of poverty, or chronic disease, or loneliness,… those kind of things… problems people just deal with and die with.

    Now, when you tell me that some of these people at the top are so unhappy, I have a hard time actually believing that to be true. I believe when people say that, they must be saying that to make themselves feel better about themselves. What could possibly be bad about being beautiful, rich, or charismatic? You would never be alone, microwaving a frozen lasagna for dinner at night and falling asleep in front of the TV. You would never have to take out a second mortgage to pay for your sick kid’s medical bills. Things like that. “

    Before I reply, a few caveats: 1) I neither am or hangout with rich and famous people; I’m a comfortably middle-class school admin now; in my 20s and 30s i was a middle-to-upper-middle-class riser who, by dint and coincidence of his job, had an expense account that doubled my mid-to-high five-figure salary, which is a fortunate and very ‘leverage-able’ facet to brandish in one’s personal game and presentation — but: THAT IS NOT THE SAME AS BEING RICH AND/OR FAMOUS and in the entertainment industry nexus, the interplay among talent, press, agents, publicists and industry executives, those distinctions and disparities are NEVER for a second overlooked or unconsidered.

    As for your claim that i said ‘the rich don’t have it so good as you think,’ or words to that effect, i think you might be confusing two past thoughts i often expressed everywhere from here, gl piggy, onestdv and even back at Guy White: that “is that all there is?” thought and obsession that i claim sometimes affects the pre-eminent race, class and culture in a given historical epoch (i.e., white westerners and European countries and achievements in the 20th-century), that is the talent, class and cultural mindset vulnerable to more abstract and core existential dreads and maladies, because their aggregate skill and achievement level has mostly eradicated the financial and medical constraints that often rule and contain lesser civilizations.)

    Simillarly, along the lines of, say, ‘rich and famous versus poor and struggling but basically surviving westeners, yeah, as you say, I do believe those two American subsets aren’t as far apart in terms of ‘levels of satisfaction’ or whatever the index than what one could reasonably believe —– and much for the same reason I cite above: when the core concerns are a given: rent, bills being paid, no car and car-repair worries or other life-disrupting financial distractions to invade your life, one’s concerns can easily become petty, vainglorious and even neurotically fantastical; (I recall a rich co-ed i went to grad school with; her fathr was a C.E.O. of some major appliance manufacturer, possibly perhaps even a billionaire; etc. Anyhow, this girl, an arty, smart and serious but somewhat disturbed type, developed an infection on her arm —– and she more or less turned it into an art project: she made little colony sculptures on the cast,—- said th secondary infection that developed because of her lack of sanitary cleaning and maintaining the bandaging REPRESENTED INDUSTRIAL NEGLECT AND EXPLOITATION OF THE THIRD WORLD and her symbolic bit of nihilistic narcissism and self-absorption was her way of atoning for her sinful white-western heritage…….. Never kept up with whatever happened to her, but it to me seems anecdotally true that most of the more depressed and/or suicidal threats or cases that happened in Hyde Park during the time I was there were highly disproportionately among the wealthier kids.

    Core health,nutrition and economic concerns ground you, especially when you’re young and one’s normal human passions can run away with you and out of life-binding context.

    Ask someone who (at least according to their avatar bio) is a genuine and life-long member of the Western leisure class like LBF if he thinks the rich and renowned are less depressed or neurotic than lower and middle-class Americans.

  37. — (I recall a rich co-ed i went to grad school with; her fathr was a C.E.O. of some major appliance manufacturer

    Nikcrit, have you read “I Am Charlotte Simmons”? Tom Wolfe describes that same class.

  38. p.s. to MGE:

    anonymous moose: “oneliness is not abated by money or fame. Sure you can get hookers and false friends. And the other thing not abated by money and fame is aging and death, and witnessing that in everything and everyone you love and care about……At the same time, life is better with money.”

    Touche; anonymous moose more succinctly made my point already, though i saw his post after the fact. Indeed, re. aging and death; as the saying goes: ‘Father Time is the great equalizer.”

  39. THAT IS NOT THE SAME AS BEING RICH AND/OR FAMOUS and in the entertainment industry nexus, the interplay among talent, press, agents, publicists and industry executives, those distinctions and disparities are NEVER for a second overlooked or unconsidered.

    I know about your background and that’s why I asked you. I was wondering what it was like observing this class of people from the inside. I’d imagine being so close to all that glamour would be intoxicating. It’s something I’ve always wanted to experience. I can’t fathom there would be too many downsides to being one of the “beautiful people” as Marylin Manson would call them. Could you imagine being someone like Trevor Noah? You would never have any problem finding friends or lovers, no one would dislike you or overlook you, there would be exciting, lucrative opportunities for you at every turn, you would never run out of things to do, places to see. It seems like you could just float above vicissitudes and drudgery of ordinary life.

    “is that all there is?”

    Never felt that way, not ever once. In fact I strongly condemn that sentiment. There is always something you can do, especially if you have power, privilege and influence. In fact, I would be inclined to believe that the mindset of “is that all there is?” is more prominent among the less privileged. I could imagine this is what someone working their whole life at a fast food restaurant might think “Is this all there is? I’m just some stupid fat fuck working at Taco Bell, scraping by just enough to buy my diabetes medications and other essentials at Wal Mart, maybe I will save up enough someday to take a trip to Disney World?”

    but it to me seems anecdotally true that most of the more depressed and/or suicidal threats or cases that happened in Hyde Park during the time I was there were highly disproportionately among the wealthier kids.

    Perhaps it is true anecdotally among that population. But as revealed in a recent study, there has been a sharp increase in deaths among the white working class over the past 15 years, largely attributed to suicide and drug overdoses. This corresponds to the declining fortunes of this class of people over the same time period.

    At the same time life is better with money. What is an analogy. You are paddling upstream to your final destination (not downstream because that way is a huge waterfall) and money is a bigger boat. But whether a nice boat or a rickety raft, it is upstream or downstream and that’s the only ride. You can’t get off the river.

    That’s a good analogy, but anyone would prefer the journey on a yacht, as opposed to paddling a raft. It’s an objectively better journey. It’s not just about money either. There are many people who are not well enumerated that have many other desirable characteristics, perhaps beauty, good health, charisma, a good family, unique or rare talent. It’s true that most people are somewhere in the vast middle… It’s just always been a preoccupation of mine to imagine what that sliver of life at the top of the pyramid is like.

  40. “I know about your background and that’s why I asked you. I was wondering what it was like observing this class of people from the inside. I’d imagine being so close to all that glamour would be intoxicating. It’s something I’ve always wanted to experience. I can’t fathom there would be too many downsides to being one of the “beautiful people” as Marylin Manson would call them. Could you imagine being someone like Trevor Noah? You would never have any problem finding friends or lovers, no one would dislike you or overlook you, there would be exciting, lucrative opportunities for you at every turn, you would never run out of things to do, places to see. It seems like you could just float above vicissitudes and drudgery of ordinary life.”

    Yeah, but my proximity ‘to all that glamour’ was highly mediated, so in-other-words, guarded and qualified in other ways that rendered those encounters somewhat unreal.
    Now, I also was a musician before a music journo, in in that world (and with that skill) I generated some ‘real’ and closer, more intimate friendships with those approximating ‘glamour.’ But there’s always some element to make evident the ‘us-vs-them’ realpolitik, in both formal and casual encounters….. I know some national rockers from my neck of the U.S. of A; I’ll say i watched a GB Packer playoff game a couple of years ago with a few friends that included a certain producer of a certain very, very influential Seattle grunge band, etc. —- many such instances, but they’re very laidback normal dudes, unlike some of the cock-rock L.A. guys i mentioned a few weeks ago, and who i met out west after their spandex hey-day. Overall, i’m very indifferent if amused by such antics; it’s like a good-natured spectacle to observe and process but nothing like an inside look at ‘real glamour’ or whatever you suggested. They’re very much just like you and me; you would have fit in fine at those aforementioned playoff-game football parties i mentioned…. besides, nowadays wiht niche-pop and niche-fame the norm, i really don’t believe the volk are all that impressed with pop fame; shit, sometimes it seems like today there are more celebrities than there are ‘fans’ of said celebs.

    RE. Manson; I once did a funny art-feature cover story on Manson, focusing on how he was ‘merely’ just another in a long-line of ‘shock-rock’ stars that come about every few years; e.g., from screaming jay hawkins, to litte richard to Alice Cooper and ohter more modern and more obvious antecedents of outrage etc.; btw, i’ve done brief phoners with him; he’s truly a shy, introverted, smart laidback rustbelt kinda guy; I also know a bit more insider stuff about him because a pop-rock journo that i know fairly well and is my contemporary in age and influence co-wrote his ‘autobiography,’ and I would occasionally jabber wtih him while he was writing the book.

    Here’s a Hollywood insider tip that i’ve always wanted to get off my chest: the all-time biggest asshole, obnoxious phone interview i did was with Spike Lee re. “He Got Game.” Arrogant. Rude, Self-important. Braggart-like: He didn’t disappoint in any of the usual-suspect stereotypes! Lol!!

  41. “Could you imagine being someone like Trevor Noah? You would never have any problem finding friends or lovers, no one would dislike you or overlook you, there would be exciting, lucrative opportunities for you at every turn, you would never run out of things to do, places to see. It seems like you could just float above vicissitudes and drudgery of ordinary life.”

    p.s.@MGE,

    One more point that i feel is important but that I neglected to touch upon in my above responses: often, and i noticed this early in my entetertainment journalism career, the person you encounter feels his celebrity personae is another person —– literally, almost like how “MGE” the person is this different biological entity than MGE the alt-right avatar, with ‘its’ own archive of positions and commentary and emotional reaction rendered into literary posterity… Sooo, to address your above quote, the dilemma or you might say leveling equalizer in play to counter your above assumption, ‘Trevor’ the person very likely feels alienated from all the fawning attention that ‘Trevor the celebrity’ so easily generates and filters through; that sounds cliche—– a star’s cynicism from all the opportunistic privilege —— but that quality is so automatic and instant as one comes out of the conveyor belt of the Hollywood star machine that it’s felt reaction is genuine and a very real ‘issue’ that said celebs deal with; it really can level the supposed advantages you presume in your above quote; i can’t tell you how many times i’ve dealt with celebs in interviews who speak of their ‘performing self’ as if it was an entirely different enterprise/person than the person i’m speaking to, say, on the phone or in some press lounge or whatever; often, the ‘real’ person actually begins to analyze and deconstruct ‘its’ performing ‘self’ or entity, making clear the perceptual disconnect between celebrated figure or personalized figment and the ‘real’ person articulating as much; think of a puppet and its deeply engrossed puppeteer —– that may best describe the relationship we’re discussing.
    IDK. There’s a strong element of cliche to our back-n-forth here on this subject, but cliche prevails in that world and the commerce that buttresses it tends to give it a heft and legitimacy that makes it prevail despite its rather shallow and self-serving squalor.

    So, no, I’m afraid those celebs still deal with all te existential dreads that those making burritos at Taco Bell do too —– notwithstanding the grotesquely different level of financial privilege, which makes said dread much more tolerable but no less present.

    Off-topic: i think there needs to be a book written about the philosophical and other existential aspects of fame and how it is now wrought in the digital many-to-many media age. That is relativeliy fresh ground, as is the concept of celebrity ‘fame’ itself, having only been technologically possible in the form we’re discussing for about the last 100 years.

  42. p.p.s.@MGE,

    In the interests of full disclosure, i must admit that i had to look up just who Trevor Noah was, though I did vaguely recognize the name. (yeah, i’m that long removed and disinterested in the game).

    And speaking of late-night talk show hosts: i can’t decide who’s the biggest 21st-century doofus pop figure: Seth Myers or Adam Duritz?

  43. Ryu…

    You can tell yourself anything, but do not lie.

    Strydom NEVER ENVISIONED in a millions years living “free” with a wife UNDER “black” majority rule.

    What do you think he tells himself now?

    WE looked away at their “crimes” so “they” looked away at mine?

    He DID NOT DO what was necessary.

  44. And speaking of late-night talk show hosts: i can’t decide who’s the biggest 21st-century doofus pop figure: Seth Myers or Adam Duritz?

    I had to google Adam Duritz.. that’s the guy from Counting Crows right? Yeah huge doofus, though I did like kinda that song “Long December” because it reminds me of pretty much every December in the upper midwest.

    I don’t watch much TV these days. The only late night show I sometimes catch is “Watch What’s Happening” on Bravo. The affable Trevor Noah is a huge upgrade from the smug, condescending and unfunny Jon Stewart. As I’ve stated before, I have never found liberal snark humor at all funny. There is a new show on Adult Swim, “Million Dollar Extreme” that has a lot of subversive alt-right themes … it is very out there and experimental, which is what you might expect from a nascent cultural movement, somewhat like the Beats poets anticipating the Hippies of the 60s.

  45. — I did like kinda that song “Long December” because it reminds me of pretty much every December in the upper midwest.

    “Long December” is one of my go-to nostalgia songs. It’s always back to how great the early 90s were in music, even Grunge aside. Another song by them, “Round Here,” is part of a mini-genre I’ve always liked, songs about enigmatic damaged women. Other songs from that era about self-destructive femme fatales: “She Talks to Angels” by Black Crowes and “Let Her Cry” by Hootie and the Blowfish.

    It’s easy to run like hell from them in real life today, because now they’re all fat. But the girls in those songs were easy to imagine as tragic and beautiful.

  46. When I lived in the East Bay it was common to see Adam Duritz hanging out at Zachary’s Pizza.

    Trickin’s dislike for him stems from the fact that Durtitz is well-known for his success with top-tier white women. For all I know they even competed for some of the same girls back in the 90s.

    Duritz is Jewish, FWIW. He also attended UC Berkeley.

  47. An acquaintance from high school high was in LA and the closest he came to making it was “rubbing shoulders” at parties with “that guy from Counting Crows.”

    Hearing this, back 20 years ago, us rubes back home was like, Impressive!

    But turns out he was everywhere.

    In one of his vids (can’t remember which), the final scene is of him sitting on the park bench in fabled LA land, just takin the weather, takin the scene, … and these magical beautiful girls start appearing out of the grass and idling around, and he does the “check them out, this is gonna be alright” look — upturned mouth, sly and sinister.

    One of the many looks that made him the LA artiste for his times.

  48. The guy has the musical talent of a, uh, crow.

    But hey, what does that matter, there’s 50 million idiots driving around, switchin around on the dial!

    His breakthrough hit “whatever-the-fuck” was lyrically original,

    Down at the New Amsterdam, …

    Painted a picture of that scene-going-nowhere. Credit where due.

  49. Trickin’s dislike for him stems from the fact that Durtitz is well-known for his success with top-tier white women.

    Just because the guy got some hot girls in bed (like Courtney Cox) doesn’t mean that he isn’t a colossal dee-bag… because he is. I’m just glad his 12 minutes of fame are over.

    In fact, if his music was still in the public eye right now he’d be skewered for “cultural appropriation” with those dreadlocks in today’s new Obamerica, and as as a likely sweetbreeches liberal himself he’d have to squirm and hardly be able to answer that charge.

  50. “Trickin’s dislike for him stems from the fact that Durtitz is well-known for his success with top-tier white women. For all I know they even competed for some of the same girls back in the 90s.”

    LMAO!

    FWIW, both your speculations are absolutely ridiculous; I just hope you’re joking.

    (btw, as a experiment, try to watch the following video without throwing up; I say it’s just about impossible. The guy and his pretensions epitomize everything i hate about pop music at this late date; especially, the part near the end, when he goes into the pseudo-Jamaican “why u wanna give it all away”-patois. Yikes!)

  51. He made money in the biz, we are talking about him …

    He wins.

    Right. That is the perspective I, too, usually maintain while making these kind of subjective assessments.

    But something about that pretentious a-hole just untethers my restraint; he’s notorious for being a condescending dilletante: Scolding and lecturing label executives for their anti-p.c. ways, etc.; I once saw him in an MTV interview or something going on about how wars and political strife would cease if only those world leaders would be humble and meditate, etc.; i.e., fuckin’ drivel like that—– but he acted like he really believed it.

    Who knows? Along the spirit of elk’s above observation, maybe it was just one, big and elaborate hustle on Duritz’ part; in that case, he is some sorta genius. Lol!!

  52. He made money in the biz, we are talking about him …

    He wins.

    People here really believe that? I sure wouldn’t trade lives with any minor, half-ass, untalented musical “celebrity”. And entertainment swallows souls. Longevity in the music industry is getting increasingly hard to come by now, and the whole business is starting to shy away from any artist over 25.

  53. Elk…

    If your metric was wS then there are virtually no real winners and but a rare few fighting against the losers.

  54. “People here really believe that? I sure wouldn’t trade lives with any minor, half-ass, untalented musical “celebrity”. And entertainment swallows souls.”

    I agree, and surely ain’t granting no respectful fealty to Duritz and his likes, But I’m acknowledging that perhaps he is getting the last laugh, as Duritz surely isn’t some one-hit wonder who’s been used and discarded without real financial gain. Rather, I’m saying if his lucrative hustle was in fact that, it’s all the more galling…. IDK. There are many music-biz players who came out ahead who get nary an ounce of my respect; he just may be one more —– though his hustle galls me more than others. Whatever. Surely there are plenty more, but i ain’t counting, I actually respect the biz hustle; it’s just that sometimes you see someone gain who turns your stomache in the process….. Life goes on.

  55. In my field of dreams…
    The horde
    Brings it.
    I will to shield it
    Reveal
    And then deal it.
    Build the dream
    So a white boy
    Feels it
    Sees ideals in it
    Inspired to innovate
    And create within it…
    Dedicated
    And head predicated
    On perfecting thyself
    As regenerate seed
    Then new green grass
    A field of dreams
    Always in need of it
    Godspeed
    The fresh green
    Before the fight
    For the field
    As alive as dead spring…

  56. I agree, and surely ain’t granting no respectful fealty to Duritz and his likes, But I’m acknowledging that perhaps he is getting the last laugh, as Duritz surely isn’t some one-hit wonder who’s been used and discarded without real financial gain. Rather, I’m saying if his lucrative hustle was in fact that, it’s all the more galling…. IDK.

    Yeah, you’ve made the point before that even some entertainers don’t believe their own “hype” and play along with a persona they don’t like either while quietly rolling their eyes at the whole industry. And I think there’s gotta be some truth to it.

    I remember seeing an interview with the guys in that terrible band “Alien Ant Farm” and they were laughing at their fans and basically saying “we just started a band to get laid and make some money, we really didn’t think people would like us”. And I remember thinking how that sentiment actually showed in their music for those who’d bother to listen.

  57. There are many music-biz players who came out ahead who get nary an ounce of my respect; he just may be one more —– though his hustle galls me more than others. Whatever. Surely there are plenty more, but i ain’t counting, I actually respect the biz hustle; it’s just that sometimes you see someone gain who turns your stomache in the process….. Life goes on.

    And your theory should would go far in explaining the motivations behind a lot of artists who strike me as colossal frauds who can’t possibly believe the whole massive, multi-decade cult of personality and image they’ve created for themselves – like Willie Nelson or Elton John.

  58. Willie Nelson has a reputation of integrity, among the counter-cultural icons that he is associated with. Incidentally i have spoken some brief words with the man. He has a classic Saxon phenotype. Old American, maybe some German being from Texas.

    Elton John is a top-rate piano player, his talent exceeds 99% of all popular performers. He leaves Billy Joel in the dust, for instance. (He obviously has that other problem.)

    Of popular icons at that level, they are two of the very last i would characterize as frauds.

  59. ….. I wouldn’t put Willie Nelson and Elton John in the category of fraudulent pop myths; i mean, yeah, if we’re having a academic discussion about pop-music romanticism and mythology in the late-20-century, blah-blah ——- but not in a personal and informal gripe session about b.s. pop stars. I agree with elk that Elton is a great talent and piano player (though i disagree with elk that John isn’t.) Neither is my cup o’ tea, particularly Billy Joel, in terms of liking his songs—– yet all the while i greatly respect his songcraft; in fact, i think Joel is better than John instrumentally, while i prefer John’s lyrics and composition skills more than Joel’s.

    Point is, there are far, far more worthy targets than either of those two in terms of porous pop mythologies.

  60. “…in fact, i think Joel is better than John instrumentally…”

    Hmmmm. I think I’ll take that statement back; rather, i’ll say that both are skilled pop pianists, compared to nearly all their peers… it’s funny, when i was a intern at the newspaper i got hired at, my first big review was the ‘Dueling Pianos” tour that featured John and Joel performing sets separate and together, with the review running on the cover of the feat-ent section; heady stuff for a guy right out of g-school……sorry for the tangents, mr. blog host; but soem of these topics get me all sappy and full of nostalgia!

  61. As someone who doesn’t know jack about music, I’ll praise Elton John’s work to no end, crediting Bernie Taupin’s collaboration. Billy Joel wrote good songs — and I remember saying this to a friend in 1991, though in different words: Billy Joel’s work thru “Innocent Man” was great, but he always leaves a fraudulent aftertaste, LARPing at best. He’s an entertainer.

  62. No, I meant to say that Willie Nelson’s whole hippie persona strikes me as fraudulent and that he’s a money grubber and private capitalist who will spend one moment arguing liberal causes in public, then demand endless Michael Moore-like hypocritical perks, special treatment and money the next.

    But if Elk knows that Willie has a legit reputation then I’ll gladly admit that I’m wrong.

  63. Willie Nelson’s whole hippie persona strikes me as fraudulent

    To continue just going with impressions — I get that also from Nelson’s old gang, The Highwaymen. Great music, great talent, but then I’m watching their performances and their mastermind and defacto leader Kris Kristofferson waxes on about “Jesus, Pancho Villa, and Che Guevara.” A different era, being edgy meant something very different then. I don’t know anything about Willie Nelson. Johnny Cash: his life’s arc redeems him. Don’t know much about Waylon Jennings but he seemed the least tempted to be a phoney.

  64. My mom knows a friend of Billy Joel’s sister. She did not like him. I can’t take a love song from him seriously. He just doesn’t seem like he’d be good lover.

  65. “You know what i am saying.

    Elton John is another level up, from Joel

    Case closed.”

    You being a pianist and me a guitarist (and bassist to a lesser degree), I’ll take your word for it. It’s just that, in terms of the songcraft, i’ll give Joel a bow, even though i’m really not too moved by his songs. But in terms of complexity of arrangements; the ability to play relatively complicated songs before tens of thousands and deliver? I give him his kudos.

    Consider this: in terms of loose, casual, driving down the highway and listening to the radio, I’d prefer Stone Temple Pilot hits to those of Joel and even John. But does that mean I objectively think STP is a superior compositional and writing force? No, in my book at least; I’m saying: Joel could do what STP does on a musically sophisticated level —— but not vice-versa. And to me that counts for something, even if my gut passion is unincluded in said kudos.

    I recall a music thread at GLP in which some alt-right torch-bearing guy was saying that Glenn Campbell was a fraud who did the authenticity of country music USA a disservice, etc. And I declared him a fool: Campbell was a brilliant session musician; he played on tons of hits within and without his known genre well before he became a star frontman and television variety show host. Few people know how rare it is for a music celebrity to be, all in one package, a charismatic front man, a brilliant and detailed player, including intricate lead-guitar runs, all the while holding down the front-man duties. To me, that is populist nobility at its finest level; to make all from the learned musician to the casual observer, i.e., a lower-middle-class housewife in flyover USA, riveted by your talent——- that is a rare feat and nothing to snicker at. Possessing a charm and talent that captivates people across many-upon-many demographics? That is something I respect deeply. I say, “fuck the two-bit hatas.”

    To reference the artists I just mentioned and make the summary point I extended, I often cite the following video, which I think is very moving in a respectful, passing-the-musical-baton kinda way:

    p.s. @ elk: I don’t know, I’m often indifferent to Joel’s hits; but when i hear a song I’m unmoved by like “Under Pressure,” and consider all the nuance and time changes, etc., going on, I summon an academic if not personally felt respect; that stuff is hard to reproduce in fastidious form night-after-night! And, most of all, his fan base seems to absolutedly adore the guy, and are relly moved by his talent.

    I’ll give a bow to that, even if I’m not feeling it in the same way; ditto for guys like Campbell. Just say I respect ‘total package showman’ talent —– within or without my personal captivation.

  66. Elk & Nik – hopefully you will each answer this.

    Do you consider Adam Levine of Maroon5 to be talented? That’s not a trick question or enticement, keep in mind that I don’t know musical notes or how to play even a single basic instrument so I have a very untrained ear.

    He’s someone that I assume to be blandly mediocre in my own estimation (no more talented than the vast majority of music biz strivers) but someone who got ahead through his tattoos and looks that earned him major producer $$ backing and investment from his label(s). And is it me or does he have one single, weak, pseudo-falsetto, high pitched delivery? I think “And she will be loved” is one of the most trite, worthless songs ever to see the light of day.

  67. No amount of talented piano playing can make up for the wide-spread embrace of duplicitous homo-sexuality that said piano talent is accountable for…

    Might as well worship the flamingly flexible fingers of the devil itself.

  68. No amount of talent can compensate for the public propagation of the propaganda of perpetual self-annihilation.

  69. “Do you consider Adam Levine of Maroon5 to be talented? “

    Somewhat. I consider him a major manipulator and industry player; i see a guy who’s very savvy in playing the industry game, which you might say is a Jewish-record-executive talent. Also, very homoerotic acting out in his professional ascent; his skits on SNL were over the top. Similarly, his branding of a clothes line and all the other biz extensions reek to me of future mogul stature and not so much artistic aspiration.
    As for my personal inclinations toward his product? Total indifference. I cannot see distinction between his output and his overall ambitions; to me, he’s a rep of the current industry zeitgeist,and said zeitgeist is not appealing to me, though i think he’s successful in that personally unappealing field of interaction.
    Maroon 5 holds no appeal to me. In any case, he’s not long for that band; he’s clearly moving into a producer/managerial mode; his days a singularly performing entity are limited if not already in the past.

  70. Billy Joel can write a catchy tune, but he just kind of leaves me cold. I do like the song “Summer Highland Falls”, however. “Captain Jack” is my other favorite. Elton John has written some lousy songs, “Philadelphia Freedom” comes to mind. I have heard “Tiny Dancer” probably a thousand times, and still love it. “Rocket Man” and “Candle in the Wind” are also great songs. I don’t really like country music much, but Willie Nelson is one I can enjoy. “Always on My Mind” is my favorite Willie Nelson song.

Leave a Reply

