Songs About Neoliberalism

Thirty years ago you told them that they are a fungible commodity. You dumped monkeys, rats and snakes into their beds. You drugged them with corn, sold them brittle plastic trinkets, blew off their legs overseas and liberated their women’s gutter impulses.

Neoliberals like Ronald Reagan and Margaret Thatcher shouldered the burden of delivering their respective nations from the devil as they understood him and the fruits of the work that they began are all around us.

The songs below show the impact points of tradition colliding with neoliberal progress. In one of the posted videos, a Welsh mining community protests Thatcher’s closing of coal mines with slogans “Coal, Not Dole.” Think about how those three words metonymize the proper function of a national government. In another song’s intro, young Indiana farmers explain to John Mellenkamp’s video crew that another loan is just another bill to pay and that there has to be another solution:

I think the politicians are playing games with us. It doesn’t cost them anything to change the rule, you know, embargo another country.

In these songs, we see what neoliberalism looked like at the beginning of its ascent three decades ago, its arc a rainbow with someone’s pot of gold at the end of it.

These songs or their videos render the disorientation of people who don’t know what is happening to them. They aren’t privy to the things that we in the current year know. But they also remind us of things that we had forgotten over the past thirty years so rather than playing them for nostalgia, let’s listen or watch for what to reclaim as the system exhausts itself and lets go.

Here are the songs:

Industry. Bruce Springsteen “My Hometown” — Bookended by the speaker’s own arc of life from childhood to fatherhood, the song is a witness to an American town’s ruin caused by racial integration and loss of manufacturing jobs. There was nothing you could do. Except pack a U-Haul. Before they emigrate, he tells his son “This is your hometown.”

Mining. Manic Street Preachers “An Anthem for a Lost Cause” — The video is a personal story amidst the Welsh “Coal, Not Dole” protests. Music itself begins at 1:50.  I am giving the video’s feminist subplot a pass because it is not essential to the story. Also, the song and the video are beautifully made.

Farming. John Mellencamp “Rain on the Scarecrow” — Was there another way? The world changes, new generations want new things, but people still need to eat and there will always be folks who want to work their own land. Yet thirty years ago it was decided that small farmers are to be phased out.

Four hundred empty acres that used to be my farm
I grew up like my daddy did, my grandpa cleared this land
When I was five I walked the fence while grandpa held my hand

And son I’m just sorry there’s no legacy for you now.

Government. Ministry “N.W.O.” — The lyrics… they kick in near the end and deliver the payload. What I get from that song, other than an appreciation for its dulcimer whimsy, is a natural harmonic of its riffs with the silent pulse that’s awakening in us now in the terminal days of this neoliberal rainbow of mud.

 

44 thoughts on “Songs About Neoliberalism

  1. Pingback: Songs About Neoliberalism | Reaction Times

  2. PA,

    congratulations on your blog, its actually pretty good for a racist site and just in time because CH is now officially unreadable. His content has become weak and his comments are even weaker.

    (((shakin my head)))

    You are a decent writer, keep up the interesting topics and subject matter.

  3. “Bruce Springsteen “My Hometown” — Bookended by the speaker’s own arc of life from childhood to fatherhood, the song is a witness to an American town’s ruin caused by racial integration…..”

    Hmmm…..You sure about that? If you don’t mind, I’d like to get The Boss himself to confirm that above bit of interpretation.

    [I am sure based on my reading of the text. Artists’ own interpretations of their work can be unreliable because the artistic process is in part pre-rational. I pointed out something similar with Kieślowski’s own anti-death penalty views vs. as I see it the pro-capital punishment message in “Decalogue 5” -PA]

  4. Interesting. I don’t know any of those tunes, bro. Where in the world was I when they came out? Been indulging an 80s music longing recently.

    I hope to God it’s exhausting itself…!

  5. Watching the video of the Boss above, and the Mellencamp retrospective commenced earlier with Rain on the Scarecrow, it is a vision of when white people could still dance, and have fun and not be embarrassed about being white and dancing that white weird freestyle stuff.

    Really reminds me of high school, but that is my own timeline.

    But check out Mellencamp’s moves in the original post vid, to see what i am talking about; and for that matter Springteen above. THAT was the dance move, does it even have a name?

    How can it be described. In the Scarecrow vid it starts at 3:24 and that was how white people danced back then. I don’t know what to say about it, except that was done with a some confidence – and can you imagine anyone doing those moves now?

    People who don’t dance are not alive. It sounds like a gay theater joke, but it is just one of those things that is to the point and true.

    It takes energy and vitality and confidence to do that stuff, and to move like that. For starters, you have to know that you won’t be laughed out of town.

    Yeah, the 80s, past, time right, i know can you believe it?

    I can’t really get at the point, but it is simply that those are videos of Americans looking back at their own pasts – but at the same time, that was the last time that America had a past to look back to!

    I look at Mellencamp and know that my generation were all imitating him.

    Seeing those videos this morning, i am confident that Mellencamp is singular and unique for that last gasp. He was a hero and they almost got some of it on film.

    This is all rather melodramatic, but some melodrama is in order. America has got to come to terms with what happened to it. What a gyp.

  6. I grew up in metro Minnesota but outside of the city, and it was always important that you be country. Of course we were more or less all faking it, but it still was important to try. Chewing tobacco and trucks and farm hats.

    I was just remembering how one of the “old boys” from high school showed up at McDonalds with a deer in the back of his truck and he was showing off, and this thought crossed my mind yesterday as i was near there, that that was probably the last time that anyone brought a dead deer into that parking lot.

    And when did they stop having keggers down by the River? There were probably a few lingering on into the 90s but i bet there hasn’t been more than one or two in the last 10 or 15 years. Nowadays you couldn’t have a kegger down there. For various reasons it couldn’t be done it wouldn’t happen. People would not enjoy being down there! – is the main reason.

  7. America lost its soul. The modern world lost its soul. Things are fucked up.

    I always like to harp on how no one is bothering with the experience of my generation and trying to put it into perspective. No one seems to have much of any ideas about what is our place and where we belong and what we ought to be doing.

    Do people ever have thoughts on those matters? I grew up not knowing those answers, and only having a sense of them as questions.

    There was an advertisement that me and my friends would laugh at and mock. It killed us. This was a stupid and very low-budget ad for votech, and somehow it was on heavy rotation for whatever it was we were watching, and i can’t imagine what that would have been. Football or baseball most likely.

    But the ad was low budget, a voiceover with two characters and it went,

    Voice 1 – “What do you want to do, who do you want to be?” – don’t you hate it when people ask you that question?

    Voice 2 – I used to, but now i know what i want: i enrolled at (wherever-the-fuck).

    The significance of this anecdote, for anyone who needs it pointed out, is that it really got to us, me and my friends, all of whom were the best and brightest of our above average sector – because at that crucial time in our lives, we didn’t know what we should be striving for.

    A good number of those people have found material success but that is not the point. What were we supposed to have been striving for, and why were we completely clueless in that matter.

    Go to college, choose a major. Find your bliss. It’s out there somewhere! just keep on lookin.

  8. I had to spoogle neoliberalism.

    Most of the finer points of contention went over my head. I’m not as well educated in economics as I’d like to be. But I think the question is, who are you trying to benefit?

    I have strong opinions about economics despite not having scholastic training in it because I believe what I see with my own two eyes and common sense.

    I know that if I want to build a factory for let’s say, sex robots, there is no way I could make it profitable by setting up shop in my hometown and giving my neighbors a job. The taxes I would pay to the State would render my business completely inoperable. But if I built my factory in China, I could sell my goods to my countrymen and pay virtually nothing into my society for the privilege. It would literally be cheaper to ship my shit across the ocean on a tanker. The largest 10 tankers in the world which ship goods from China to North America burn MORE FUEL THAN ALL THE CARS IN THE WORLD COMBINED and yet this is cheaper than making my shit here.

    This last bit is all I need to know to tell me that the vermin we are ruled by need to be overthrown and executed.

    I also know that if I make money by owning large amounts of assets and moving money from one place to another, I pay jack shit in taxes, but if I make money actually working and producing goods and services, my enemies get half. The Nazi concept that money should only be produced by labor resonated strongly with me. That idea was directed at banksters, not welfare bums. The caveat is, investment is legitimate labor. And risky. But it’s not more difficult or valuable than, let’s say, being an eye surgeon. In Nazi theory as I believe in it, it’s not the state’s responsibility to give you a handout, but it’s the state’s responsibility to give you a job that can meet your basic needs. A state that doesn’t provide men with a way to earn a living is a state that rules subjects, not one that serves it’s citizens.

    Where Capitalism fails as a system despite it’s inherent efficiency, is that it is very effective in reducing all expenses to provide the greatest profit margin and therefore is able to produce more goods for the fewest resources. The problem is Labour is just another resource in this system, and that’s us. There does need to be checks in place to protect those who are dependent on productivity to survive from the predations of those who can thrive on ownership. The differential in power and vulnerability is too great.

    I reject the idea that money or even property are fundamental rights. These things are merely behavioral adaptations that allow us to survive and should only be relevant to our ingroup. If I become rich enough, should I be allowed to buy all the land in Nicaragua and then say “everybody get off my property”? Should I be allowed to buy all the forests in the world and burn them all down? Should I be allowed to go to Somalia and buy all the food in the country so that everybody starves?

    On the other hand, I understand that the rent I pay rightfully goes to the mortgage of the people who own my home, that they bought it with their own money by forgoing other things and are within their rights to be compensated for my use of it.

    I will get a lot of flak for this but I don’t really agree with private ownership of land. The land was here millions of years before I got here and will be here millions of years after I’m dead. The land belongs to the Volk. I am willing to admit that making all land public even in a fascist nation may not be pragmatic.

    But yeah. Our current system is certainly broken.

    I think what I’m getting from this post is that Reagan and Thatcher temporarily boosted the economy and made things better by making stuff cheaper, without regard to the long-term consequences of their actions. Right-wingers nowadays remember Reagan and Thatcher with longing and are unaware that their policies are what led to our current malaise.

  9. If one doesn’t know what he is “striving” for…

    And someone suggests that he strive towards objective Supremacy, ie., Perfection…

    What is it in the high IQ “white” male that makes him so resistant? So averse to the suggestion as viable solution?

  10. Elk…

    Gen X = unknown variable = radically autonomous…

    And psychologically divided by Roe versus Wade between self-annihilators and (white) Supremacists…

  11. Heretic Phi:

    –it’s not the state’s responsibility to give you a handout, but it’s the state’s responsibility to give you a job that can meet your basic needs.

    Coal, not dole

    — Reagan and Thatcher temporarily boosted the economy and made things better by making stuff cheaper, without regard to the long-term consequences of their actions.

    They can be forgiven for misjudgment, which included overestimating the existential danger posed by the USSR.  Those who followed them were criminals who should be tried for treason and genocide and executed if convicted.

    The “lyrics” I refer to in the Ministry song point to a guilty party.

  12. “Those who followed them were criminals who should be tried for treason and genocide and executed if convicted.”

    So, you’re speaking here of Bush ‘W’ and Obama, and Blair? Really? I guess I’m just a middlebrow mid-American, who happily adapted to his homeland and homeland leaders! 🙂

    [Them too. Did you check out my hint in the Ministry song? –PA]

  13. Elk — I can’t really get at the point, but it is simply that those are videos of Americans looking back at their own pasts – but at the same time, that was the last time that America had a past to look back to!

    It’s the little things you take for granted at the time, that you miss later. It’s not even macro-trends, but the cool vibe at work with just the right mix of people a year ago, who had all since left. Trite, but gotta appreciate the moment. This very time now will give you nostalgia later.

    Not a lecture, just stream of consciousness. I am a little older than Camlost and a little younger than Nikcrit, from what these guys said but their ages. My 80s high school all-American go-to memory is practice we had, for which we (the team) pooled cars and drove to an area for a 5-mile run. Afterwards, we’re all just relaxing. I was a sophomore, and we were hanging out near this field with the seniors on our team. Dudes were mega-cool to an impressionable me, we’re all talking about stuff, evening is falling, and they’re playing music from one of their cars. Boston’s “Cant’cha Say”, and a couple of the guys were excitedly talking about the lead guitar in that song.

    Nostalgia, though, for this time. Will America be made great again? Is all this dread, malaise, at least in part a product of manufactured mass psychology and they hate Trump because he’s shaking us out of our haze? Maybe it’s all a matter of exposing the little twerp behind the curtain, kicking his ass or snapping his neck and then we just sort of look at our arms and blink in confusion, stand up and reclaim dominion, eject the pestilence and there will be keggers by the river?

  14. Yeah nostalgia is tricky.

    I am of the opinion that it is a white thing.

    Also, it is not entirely sentimental, as it is often misunderstood to be.

  15. PA:
    “The “lyrics” I refer to in the Ministry song point to a guilty party”
    The baublehead in the MV is King George the First, if I’m not mistaken. That’s his quote?

  16. Yeah it’s King George 1:

    fo sho…
    but I can’t find the bit about “good and evil” ect…

  17. Heretic, yes, it’s GHWB. He’s become a footnote president between the bigger personalities of two-termers Reagan and Clinton and also overshadowed by the more contentious two terms of his son. And yet, he may well have been at the center of a lot of things. There are conspiracy allegations that he was involved in JFK’s assassination and it’s an acknowledged fact that the Bush family is friends with John Hinkley’s parents. Make of that what you will

    His son Marvin Bush was a principal at a firm that was responsible for security at the World Trade Center prior to 9/11/2001, which lends credence to allegations that the planting of explosive charges as part of night-time elevator upgrades earlier that year got around security.

    I was originally going to use the video below for Ministry’s “NWO” but ultimately decided that the content would overwhelm the earlier part of the post so I used the one I did instead.

  18. Industry. Bruce Springsteen “My Hometown” — Bookended by the speaker’s own arc of life from childhood to fatherhood, the song is a witness to an American town’s ruin caused by racial integration and loss of manufacturing jobs. There was nothing you could do. Except pack a U-Haul. Before they emigrate, he tells his son “This is your hometown.”

    Many of the Boomer generation men in my extended family worked for the Big Three auto companies during an economic golden era that resulted from the decimation of nearly every other industrialized economy during WWII. In the 50’s the US was manufacturing 3/4 of all the world’s automobiles, and the US was a net exporter of many other manufactured consumer goods. This was a time when you could expect to graduate from high school, go straight to the assembly line and from there expect solid middle class earnings with annual raises and promotions, secure union contracts, and after 40 years, a generous pension with full medical coverage. The men in my family that had this deal lead fairly leisurely lifestyles, never worked a minute over 40 hours without overtime, never had to pay a dime for any medical expenses, never had student loan debt, had generous vacation time, and enjoyed relatively cheap housing prices (so much so that some had a lake house and a boat … all from a factory job!). Well, guess what, those days ARE NEVER COMING BACK. We are now competing in a globalized economy, with the vestiges of a mentality from a different era that need to be shucked off. And it’s not just foreign labor or immigrants taking those jobs – I think(?) the majority has been lost to robots! As much as I’d like a return the Pat Buchananesque isolationist vision of America, I just don’t think that is a realistic option. There will always be a third world peasant willing to work harder for less to assemble whatever gadget that will be sold on the global marketplace.

    If I could give advice to any kids currently languishing in one of these post-industrial towns that Springsteen waxes nostaligic about, it would be “GET THE FUCK OUT.” Leave, acquire a useful skill that can not be automated, and avoid taking on student loan debt.

  19. “As much as I’d like a return the Pat Buchananesque isolationist vision of America, I just don’t think that is a realistic option. There will always be a third world peasant willing to work harder for less to assemble whatever gadget that will be sold on the global marketplace.”

    It IS a realistic option. We don’t have to become India or Africa.

    No one would have believed 100 years ago that a cabal of intellectual shysters could have upended every Western nation with a silly word. No one would have believed either that most people in a society could own a car. No one would have believed in the 1980’s that our children today would be getting taught 18 pronouns for transexuals in Middle School.

    Believe this. The Globalist elite don’t suppress Communist ideology because it’s not a threat to them. If there’s a better way that could overthrow them, what do you think they’d do?

    Crush it of course.
    Fascism WORKS. Germany, Japan, and Italy ALL went from third world poverty into superpower status within a few years. Do you not think you’ve been taught to hate and fear it because it’s the only legitimate threat to the current order?

    We don’t need to depend an third worlders to make our cell phones. If we can imprison men for smuggling narcotics, we can imprison them for conspiracy to commit human trafficking for hiring illegal aliens. We can imprison them from smuggling in goods made in third-word sweatshops without paying outrageous tarriffs. Djooze in Israel can have raced-based citizenship and so can we.

    As that farmer in Rain on the Scarecrow said, it doesn’t hurt politicians to put a tariff or embargo on underpriced foreign goods in order to maintain our economic independence. It’s just that they don’t really rule us. If the “market” was all powerful there would be no welfare. Either for single moms or for rich banksters who screw up the economy.

    Sovereignty. It’s possible.
    That is what Trump is tempting America with, that no other politician will put on the table out of fear of their true masters, who are certainly not Americans. We will have to see if he follows through.

  20. Fascism WORKS. Germany, Japan, and Italy ALL went from third world poverty into superpower status within a few years. Do you not think you’ve been taught to hate and fear it because it’s the only legitimate threat to the current order?

    All great points, HP. But people are afraid of fascism because last time we tried it we almost destroyed ourselves in the process. Another thing to consider: Christians consider fascism to be morally wrong. I understand that religion is not taken very seriously on this corner of the alt-right, it is at best considered an epiphenomenon of race, perhaps a cultural artifact like “folklore”. But the reason for instance the civil rights movement in America took hold had everything to do with the prevailing Christian consciousness and probably very little to do with outside Jewish influence.. The likelihood of a fascist, race based movement falling into place under someone like (lol) Donald Trump is slim to none… so therefore I take the most pragmatic stance that will benefit white folk… use your God given gifts to maximum to thrive in this inevitably globalized world and help your kin do so as well… and fuck the haters!

  21. — “But people are afraid of fascism because last time we tried it we almost destroyed ourselves in the process.”

    Germany tried to slaughter half of Europe because Hitler’s pre-war economic bubble required the raiding of Austria’s, Poland’s and Czechoslovak treasuries to sustain, and then there was the mad-gamble attack on the USSR. But that is not the whole story on fascism. Germany best stick to engineering and music; they destroy Europe when they try statesmanship, be it fascism or sociodemocracy. But Franco’s Spain did well.

    The best case against fascism is the White spirit’s quest for freedom, which I covered in the “Freedom” post. We chafe under strict rules. But not under the push for excellence, protection, national sovereignty and territorialism that fascism promises.

    — “I understand that religion is not taken very seriously on this corner of the alt-right”

    Haven’t you been reading ANY of my posts? Everything I write is infused with the Christian spirit or my search for it. And even Heartiste has been coming around on faith.

    — “the civil rights movement in America took hold had everything to do with the prevailing Christian consciousness and probably very little to do with outside Jewish influence.”

    Bullshit. Civil Rights was a coup d’état that relied on a prosperous nation’s complicity to pass. Jewish influence had lots to do with it, beginning with Trotsky’s call for a permanent global revolution.

    — “inevitably globalized world”

    An inevitably globalized world means that one million Bengalis and one billion Africans move next door to you. That is an asteroid-smashing-Earth scenario that is theoretically possible but in practice unlikely, due to a certain reaction against such course of events. The “Coal Not Dole” message in the Welsh video in the original post points to statesmanship model that protects its people from an economic race to the bottom. You are too pessimistic.

  22. MGE
    “But people are afraid of fascism because last time we tried it we almost destroyed ourselves in the process.”

    When it was a new idea that hadn’t been fleshed out yet, the Old World order moved quickly to crush it, yes. People are afraid of fascism because they’ve been indoctrinated to be. For the same reason they were afraid of witches and demon possession a couple of hundred years ago.

    “Another thing to consider: Christians consider fascism to be morally wrong.”

    Why yes, of course they do. Christians are good-hearted, humble, trusting people who want to help everyone. The meat of our race and the muscle that holds our civilization together, indeed.

    People who embody a strong will to be good. Wonderful people. Not cynics who have the stomach to question what they’ve been taught. Folks who just want to get along, and need an authority figure help them understand what’s right and wrong. Their role isn’t glamorous, but it is foundational nevertheless.

    Of course, Christians also believed that interracial sex was wrong, and that the husband was the head of the household and the wife should obey him. The thing about God is he has a tendency to change his opinions on things to appease more aggressive religions, be they Political Correctness or Islam.

    Furthermore, Christians also believe that abortion is wrong, as is teaching Children in school that homosexuality is normal. So those things couldn’t happen. Christians believe that women should remain virgins until married as well, so there should be millions of unmarried young White women I can start a family with who are still virgins, no?

    If you are a Nazi or a Fascist, Christians are not our enemies even if they currently think they are. Unlike Political Correctness, there is nothing about National Sovereignty or Racial Destiny that goes against Christ. Our very few actual disagreements with them are piddly and insignificant. When the time comes, Christians will obediently fall in line like they always do. The only difference is they will then be ruled by men who have their best interests at heart. When the current order is burning, God will be on our side. I’m not worried about that.

    “The likelihood of a fascist, race based movement falling into place under someone like (lol) Donald Trump is slim to none… “

    I certainly agree. It isn’t time yet.
    No one within the System is going to hand us our freedom at no cost. Don’s just there to make our mouth water. That’s his role. To cocktease us with the scent of Glory; to give us hope. That’s what time it is.

  23. Haven’t you been reading ANY of my posts? Everything I write is infused with the Christian spirit or my search for it. And even Heartiste has been coming around on faith.

    Sorry I didn’t mean for you to misconstrue that. I’ve read nearly all your posts and I wasn’t referring to your blog specifically when I said “this corner of the alt-right” I was referring more to the commenters. It was a poor choice of words.

    The best case against fascism is the White spirit’s quest for freedom, which I covered in the “Freedom” post. We chafe under strict rules. But not under the push for excellence, protection, national sovereignty and territorialism that fascism promises

    I will have to go back to read that post and offer my thoughts later.

    Bullshit. Civil Rights was a coup d’état that relied on a prosperous nation’s complicity to pass. Jewish influence had lots to do with it, beginning with Trotsky’s call for a permanent global revolution.

    Jews played a role in the Civil Rights, as they do with all destabilizing social movements, but the Civil Rights Movement was entirely based in Christian theology. I mean, have you read MLK’s “Letter from Birmhingham Jail?”

    But more basically, I am in Birmingham because injustice is here. Just as the prophets of the eighth century B.C. left their villages and carried their “thus saith the Lord” far beyond the boundaries of their home towns, and just as the Apostle Paul left his village of Tarsus and carried the gospel of Jesus Christ to the far corners of the Greco Roman world, so am I compelled to carry the gospel of freedom beyond my own home town. Like Paul, I must constantly respond to the Macedonian call for aid.

    All this resonated compellingly with the Christian population of America, without the specific intervention of Jewish influence.

  24. “All this resonated compellingly with the Christian population of America, without the specific intervention of Jewish influence.”

    Ha!
    Whites who are ignorant of the Congoid’s natural overconfidence would take seriously a Reverend/Doctor who liked to get liquored up in a hotel room with a Black hooker and a White one and make a “Brotherhood Sandwich” out of them. As he claimed with a straight face to be a prophet of God himself. But he is become the Messiah of another religion entirely.

    Today, not likely. Most Christians have heard rap music. And BLM protestors.

    Covington has a Dream.
    http://northwestfront.org/2010/10/dreaming-the-iron-dream/

    I have a Dream too.
    But this time, it’s tempered with some caveats of Libertarian wisdom. And with the knowledge that all of our peoples, Germans and Irish, Russians and English, Christians and Pagans, Warriors and Philosophers, must choose our Destiny together, for Globalism will spare none of us.

    MGE, the world wants to destroy us. They intend to, and are succeeding. It’s not a secret conspiracy, or paranoia. And it won’t go away by ignoring it. It’s all around you. You can accept it or live in denial, but you can’t refute it.

    Denial is temporary. You can’t do it forever. Fight, or die. Those are our choices. What will you choose?

    Even if we lose, even if our people die, I want us to be remembered as a race that fought for our Destiny. Not one who sniveled and ratted each other out to our conquerors like cowards as we were led to the gallows, in hopes of being the last.

    Maybe I’m a hypocrite, but at least I have the wisdom to be ashamed of the quiet life of relative comfort that I live.

  25. “Artists’ own interpretations of their work can be unreliable because the artistic process is in part pre-rational. I pointed out something similar with Kieślowski’s own anti-death penalty views vs. as I see it the pro-capital punishment message in “Decalogue 5” -PA]”

    Well, then i guess those artists to have folks like you to tell them what they REALLY believe. Or help them see MORE CLEARLY what they really believe, no?

    I mean, such artists were always sooo grateful to have pop critics and movie critics set them straight on these matters, y’know? 🙂

  26. “MGE, the world wants to destroy us. They intend to, and are succeeding. It’s not a secret conspiracy, or paranoia. And it won’t go away by ignoring it. It’s all around you. You can accept it or live in denial, but you can’t refute it.”

    Well, if he can’t, then I will: the world NEEDS whites; and, yes, that ‘need’ is reciprocated……

    To cut it short (The Final Four pre-game spin begins in 20-minutes) here is a comment from this blog posted a couple months ago; in it, I portend, is a example of how the white mindset would become if, with a wave of the raycist-wand, there were no NAMs or “JOOOZ” on the planet; in no time flat, you’d hear plenty of exchanges echoing this comment:

    Incredibly Slavic-looking face.

    My allegiance is not with the reptiles, you know that, PA. It’s time to choose sides.

    To wit: the perpetual us-vs-them divide would most certainly maintain; it’s parameters would merely restrict to the new, smaller field-of-ethnic-discord. Human difference is needed to create standards, hierarchy and distinction; otherwise, the inbred-creating sociology of absolute segregation is merely the flipside of ‘universal equality’: no discernible differences in qualitative and quantitative social reality.

  27. “…would take seriously a Reverend/Doctor who liked to get liquored up in a hotel room with a Black hooker and a White one and make a “Brotherhood Sandwich” out of them……”

    Phi,
    Every damn world leader, whether of the cloth, a politico or whatever form statesmen, has enjoyed his hootch and his hoochies; e.g., De Tocqueville and his aides and their nightly stagecoach hosting courtesans in each and every town and junction, along the Missouri trail, etc.,

    So it’s extremely disingenuous bad-faith, to opt for the effete, easily offended posture.

    C’mon, man!!

  28. Every damn world leader, whether of the cloth, a politico or whatever form statesmen, has enjoyed his hootch and his hoochies

    As far as the historical records goes, that is not true about George Washington, nor Martin Luther (the original).

    Look, if someone whores, that is a mark against his character. If someone wants to say that it is not (a mark against his character), then that person has different standards and values.

    Man is a fallible creature. Which is why we look to leaders for examples of the best. The leader of the civil rights movement was, in his personal life, an epic fuck-up.

    Whatever. But don’t go pretending, nikcrit, that there are not real men who master their passions and live with integrity and discipline.

  29. To wit: the perpetual us-vs-them divide would most certainly maintain; it’s parameters would merely restrict to the new, smaller field-of-ethnic-discord. Human difference is needed to create standards, hierarchy and distinction; otherwise, the inbred-creating sociology of absolute segregation is merely the flipside of ‘universal equality’: no discernible differences in qualitative and quantitative social reality.

    The first part of this statement is true, i would agree. People define themselves through their differences to those around them, and there is a likely some pattern in how those differences are created and maintained.

    I don’t understand the point you are trying to make, that begins with “otherwise”. You will have to be more clear.

    Actually i think the point you are trying to make is directly in contradiction to the first point. Within a segregated populations differences WILL BE created and evolved upon and so therefore it is not an inbred dead-end, it is in fact the opposite.

    To put it in concrete terms, when white people are separated from blacks, white people will continue to evolve based upon the differences that they have among themselves.

    Quite simply, black genes have been left on another track already and at this point the white train is going elsewhere, or would be, if left to its own. It does not need the genetics of Africa.

  30. “Artists’ own interpretations of their work can be unreliable because the artistic process is in part pre-rational. I pointed out something similar with Kieślowski’s own anti-death penalty views vs. as I see it the pro-capital punishment message in “Decalogue 5” -PA]”

    Well, then i guess those artists to have folks like you to tell them what they REALLY believe. Or help them see MORE CLEARLY what they really believe, no?

    Bruce doesn’t get to say what his songs mean to people, and he would not presume to do so.

  31. Quite simply, black genes have been left on another track already and at this point the white train is going elsewhere, or would be, if left to its own. It does not need the genetics of Africa.

    The Real Men of Science don’t hang around here, but they have something to say on this topic.

    Mr Cochran says that everybody is doin’ it.

    Some choice comments,

    – 5 years from now, when Naledi admixture in pygmies has been confirmed beyond doubt, Pak Protector Greg will have moved on to something even more horrific, like the retroviral origins of gender dysmorphia from prehistoric chickenrapists.

    – I just don’t want to think about H. naledi or floresiensis. I had a friend from the Dominican Republic who swore blind that some men there rape chickens ( which is always fatal for the chicken), but I don’t want to think about that either. Some permutation of H. erectus just seems more likely to me – subcranially, they weren’t that different.

    – Sex with donkeys is evidently considered an appropriate outlet for unmarried males in some parts of rural Columbia.

    Such examples are AGAINST the point that the races are separating, by the way, so make of it what you will.

  32. “I had a friend from the Dominican Republic who swore blind that some men there rape chickens ( which is always fatal for the chicken), but I don’t want to think about that either.”

    http://www.220.ro/embi/O9dgAnORLG

    ” Sex with donkeys is evidently considered an appropriate outlet for unmarried males in some parts of rural Columbia.”

    Yeah I saw the Vice vidya.
    Those donkeys were hott..

  33. “Bruce doesn’t get to say what his songs mean to people, and he would not presume to do so.”

    Granted. First, I was being a bit sarcastic; second, I was being so because of the contrary explanation de Boss himself would and has given about that song and others.

    Now, is that so because he prefers to be burnished publicly in a certain ‘anti-racist mythology?’ Or because he believes with conviction that mythology? Again, I’m not in the mind-reading business; but I could easily see him disagreeing with PA’s interpretation, which was my point; I don’t think my original comment implied that listeners weren’t free to have their own interpretation. Rather, I was somewhat teasingly suggesting that Springsteen’s past record on this and similar matter would strongly suggest that the author of the song would disagree with interpretation.
    (Note: I recall reading a lot of stuff in which Springsteen said he was deeply influenced by Curtis Mayfield, both his work in the Impressions and his solo stuff. It might be noteworthy that Mayfield often advanced a relatively sophisticated ethos by pop standards in which he allowed for common cause while acknowledging for heavy and perhaps even unbridgeable social divides along race and other socio-ethnic lines.)

  34. “Whatever. But don’t go pretending, nikcrit, that there are not real men who master their passions and live with integrity and discipline.”

    Ok, in my comment “every leader’ was unclear hyperbole; my intention was to imply that many-upon-many respected leaders had vice pitfalls galore.

    Despite my egregious bit of overstatement, I hope you believe that I realize that there are some morally unflawed leaders in history. I really do!

  35. Nickrit
    “So it’s extremely disingenuous bad-faith, to opt for the effete, easily offended posture.

    C’mon, man!!”

    The context being discussed was the willingness of the Christian populous to embrace the “civil rights” movement, and how inspired they were by King’s claim to be akin to the apostle Paul.

    I’m neither effete nor easily offended. But I know what I think about a “Reverend” and a “Doctor” (that was neither), who had his speeches written for him by Djooish Communist subversives, that claimed to be a prophet of God. Kind of like David Koresh or L. Ron Hubbard if they’d had the media behind them. But Black, and charged by smarter men who ruled him with a Communist agenda. Kindergarten level psychological warfare of the type that one of us should think only a retard could fall for. Though that’s easy to say in hindsight.

    I think that Christians on the whole aren’t exactly wellsprings of independent thought. It’s not that that’s a bad thing in and of itself. Society needs more Indians than chiefs after all.

    Bad Faith? I’m vulgar at times, sure. But I’m not here claiming to speak for Christ, now, am I?

  36. Me
    ” I think that Christians on the whole aren’t exactly wellsprings of independent thought. “

    I spoke ( posted) incorrectly here. Most of the Apex minds throughout the history of humanity were Christian.

    Lemme rethink that one.

  37. Pingback: 100th Post – PA

  38. Pingback: The Faces Of Neoliberalism – PA

Leave a Reply

