The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades

mirr4I drew that in high school art class in 1987. In that same class, a kid at my table was talking about how he will drive a Lamborghini when he grows up because he is going to be rich like Donald Trump. “Who’s that?” we asked. The Vice President’s son was on a coke bender and a weird black guy was giggling in a Chicago bathhouse. Sammy Weaver was a nine-year-old boy. We had no idea of the coming nightfall or about any light at the end of it.

18 thoughts on “The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades

  1. very cool pic……. a nice personal nostalgia snapshot—— but we gotta ‘partisan-ize’ it with some ‘us-vs-them black helicopter’ nonsense, eh? lol!

    [Yes. -PA]

  2. 1987 was a good year (though the next year was even better!). I was still at school in England. A senior instructor introduced me to Hemingway and the ‘Beat’ writers. During the summer I flew down to join my family in the Caribbean where I spent my days swimming, sailing, checking out the topless European girls on the beach, and reading the Nick Adams stories. I decided I wanted to go into banking. Trump was rising in the media, and in that year, began his presidential campaign.

  3. checking out the topless European girls on the beach,

    I was at St. Tropez exactly ten years later and the beaches were spectacular. The shapely late-twenties women out with their friends or families would to this hot thing of slipping off the top of their one-piece swimsuit and walking around with the shoulder straps dangling by their sides.

  4. Pop music: 1986/1987 is when it became apparent to me that pop music was in serious decline, both in the US and UK (although I would argue 1989-1992 was the crucial period).

    The Bangles? Bruce Hornsby & the Range? Starship? Whitney Houston? Kylie Minogue? I hated that crap. I will admit, though that U2’s ‘Joshue Tree’ and George Michael’s ‘Faith’ helped me get laid.

  5. “I was at St. Tropez exactly ten years later and the beaches were spectacular”

    Yes! I was a kid and didn’t know which way to look. It was very exciting.

    Naked tits weren’t all they were cracked up to be, though. When I was younger we took a trip to a resort in Israel. On the beach an old, fat Jewish woman in her 60s or 70s took the seat next to me and proceeded to take off her top. Her enormous flabby breasts spilled out along her sides. How fucking embarrassing! My parents, who had a mischievous bent, were seated nearby and observed what was happening. They managed to take a photo, which we still have somewhere.

  6. Pingback: The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades | Reaction Times

  7. Nick Adams was a character in some Hemingway stories. I went through a serious Hemingway phase from about 1987 to 1989. I even managed to piss off the older feminist sister of a cute redhead I was seeing. When the sister learned I was reading Hemingway, she scolded me and called him a “misogynist”. This was in the autumn of 1987. The redhead was horny as hell and had a weird fixation with the 69 position, which I happily tolerated. After I dumped her (for a hotter, tighter girl), she purportedly tried to hurt herself. Her mother was (still is?) a well-known children’s author in the UK. I clashed with the mother.

    1987 was when Echo & The Bunnymen released their eponymous album, which I listened to throughout that summer. Also, New Order.

  8. Looking back on it now, I think the mother was jealous of her daughter getting banged.

    She was a weird woman, and I could sense she was influencing her daughters. No husband/father in the picture.

  9. Nick Adams was a character in some Hemingway stories. I went through a serious Hemingway phase from about 1987 to 1989.

    Happy to say that my AP English teacher senior year of HS was huge on “Big Two Hearted River” back in 1991. He had us write 2 papers on it. My main takeaway was a fascination with fly fishing, which I had never done near the coast where I grew up, but I reread the story some years later when I was finally able to catch some trout during a weekend in the mountains while in college.

  10. In 1987, my single mom and me, moved into her new (to us) pride and joy.
    A quaint little HOUSE she BOUGHT in a pleasant, conveniently located, safe neighborhood. On a single mediocre income in a crappy job that required no education. I can’t even fucking imagine. I played with the little girl next door who I had a crush on, but she said I couldn’t be her boyfriend because we didn’t go to the same school.

    She lost that house due to bad decisions later in life related to Alphas she was cockwhipped by.

    87-88 was the blissful peak of my childhood. I had no idea. Oh, shit did things ever go downhill from there.

  11. @PA,
    I meant to mention earlier; a few times, you’ve asked me to tell a few real-life music stories: well, the title of this post has a local-gone-national flavor: the writers of the song title you used for this post title is Pat McDonald; he and his wife Barbara co-wrote the song; I met him as a teen at the time he wrote the tune and later covered him whne i was a pop critic. I also know his current partner or wife, melaniejane, who’s also a musician…. the two co-run or are deeply involved in a annual music festival that takes place, i believe, in the Duluth-Superior area every summer…. there you go.

  12. The light at the end of the tunnel is the populist movement taking shape this election cycle.

    The line from Cormac though, overshadows it.

    You cant stop what’s comin

    Make America Great Again versus You cant stop what’s comin.

  13. Speaking of the future, are there any black Americans that can be recommended for a balanced take on white America? I know Toure was brought up on another thread, but he is no good.

    As an example of someone who is good, and has a relevant voice, and fits in well with the Cormac reference, is Comanche David Yeagley, in this article.

    He describes White Americans as the Indian’s step-child, and says we have to fight for ourselves. But hey his mother’s people were famous for roasting their enemies alive, slowly as possible and especially fun was when they could do that to babies in front of their mothers so what does he know.

  14. I imagine Thordaddy as a sort-of Anton Chigurh.visage and character——but with graying blond hair.

    btw thordaddy: i recall you saying you worked the nightlife scene often during the last 20 years; i wondered if you worked at or knew of many of the places in the following link; its roundup included many places operating during the period i was going to l.a. several weeks each year. just curious if you ever frequented or happened upon places here, as i did.

    http://www.nytimes.com/1997/12/28/travel/the-young-and-the-restless.html?pagewanted=all

  15. @PA,
    I meant to mention earlier; a few times, you’ve asked me to tell a few real-life music stories: well, the title of this post has a local-gone-national flavor: the writers of the song title you used for this post title is Pat McDonald; he and his wife Barbara co-wrote the song; I met him as a teen at the time he wrote the tune and later covered him whne i was a pop critic. I also know his current partner or wife, melaniejane, who’s also a musician…. the two co-run or are deeply involved in a annual music festival that takes place, i believe, in the Duluth-Superior area Sturgeon Bay area on the peninsula part of Wisconsin every summer…. there you go.

Leave a Reply

