“Teach Me To Dance, Will You?”

This is a continuation of my “Idle Thoughts on Popular Music” series; maybe I should call it “The Mellow Edition” on account of the slow-tempo songs featured here, along with a break from politics.

England: The Pink Floyd Reunion. Forget the England of BBC and their razor-lipped upper classes, or the Baby Boomer poz of Pink Floyd members themselves. Just enjoy this throw-away single from “The Wall” played with acoustic instruments by a merry band of brothers, echoes of a Hobbit village.

I recently reconciled with a friend, with whom I had a falling-out several years ago. Analogously, it is good to see Waters and Gilmour playing together in their 2010 reconciliation. The 1994 Pink Floyd (sans Waters) song Poles Apart tells a story of friendship’s rough road. It also features Gilmour’s third-best guitar outro, after Comfortably Numb and Time:

Did you know, it was all going to go so wrong for you
And did you see it was all going to be so right for me
Why did we tell you then
You were always the golden boy then
And that you’d never lose that light in your eyes

I thought of you and the years and all the sadness fell away from me
And did you know
I never thought that you’d lose that light in your eyes

France: Paul de Senneville “Ballade Pour Adeline.” Andre Rieu concerts tend to feature the older crowd (classical music, expensive tickets) but that Sao Paolo audience is full of lovely young women. De Senneville composed the piano piece as a tribute to his newborn daughter, Adeline. Here it is performed by Andre Rieu and his orchestra during a 2012 show in Brazil. The composition crescendos and at 1:54 a brunette’s sublime face crumbles under the weight of whatever feelings the music touched in her.

Greece: Mikis Theodorakis “Syrtaki (Zorba’s dance).”

Boss, I have so much to tell you. I never loved a man, more than you.

Plot synopsis: an earnest young Englishman attempts a pie-in-the-sky moneymaking enterprise in Crete, with Zorba the Greek (Anthony Quinn) as his assistant and unlikely mentor in this 1964 film. The business venture goes to ruin and when he loses it all in a most spectacular way, the young man is ready to learn how to dance.

Hipsteria: Father John Misty (Josh Tillman), the Maryland-born and raised Millennial is an enigma. An eminently punchable Gamma, or a very annoying strain of Sigma? Either way, the finest vocals of his generation. His best song is “Learning to Love the War” from his earlier album. Here is his latest, I Love You, Honeybear:

The future can’t be real, I barely know how long a moment is
Unless we’re naked, getting high on the mattress
While the global market crashes
As death fills the streets we’re garden-variety oblivious

14 thoughts on ““Teach Me To Dance, Will You?”

  1. Pingback: “Teach Me To Dance, Will You?” | Reaction Times

  2. @PA,
    For the life of me, I am confounded by your intrigue with Father John Misty —– the look, the sound, the content, the totality of his whole pop mythology —- what is it that draws you to him? I need descriptives because for me there is nothing self-evident to work with when you rather make declarative pronouncements (“The finest vocalist of his generation”) and don’t explain your reasoning.

    I would think he was your creative antithesis—-e.g., the hipster-hippie look, the fey alt vocal whine, the credentialess-hipster tendency toward ambiguous title and rock-vid symbolism; and he’s now looking like some middle-aged mensch compared to when you first cited him at OneSTDV several years ago. yikes.

    Of course, you’ve always championed rock that was the antithesis of your personal politics and male modus operandi —— but Misty is your favorite is outright mystifying to me….

    (this post made me think of the time we once argued about the merits of Pearl Jam; you said something along the lines of they’re the greatest performance band ever, and i countered with an interview i did with either Gossard or McCready in which he outright initiated the statement that PJ was a horrible live band —— and the new live CD package that they were releasing, the titular reason for the very interview we were conducting, was proof of that humbling admission. lolzz..

    (If i can pilfer a Nexis-Lexis username-password and dig out that interview advance, i was thinking of posting sans my byline if you’d be willing to make it, umm, ‘self-destruct’ after a few hours or so…?

  3. Misty/Tillman has a rich, resonant voice which I like in a male singer. I don’t know how else to describe it. His two songs that I posted here are interesting as well. I want to like the modern hipster alt-rock (and I like some of it) but much of it is bland and safe, or otherwise it’s elegiac in some way — but his is interesting.

    Just based on snippets of his live performance and his SJW-lite lyrics though, he strikes me as someone with a great talent that comes with a very annoying Gamma personality. The flippant ad-libbing to his own song lyrics, the faux-gay posturing and walking, the snarky daddy-baiting faces (like in that video I linked under “punchable Gamma”).

  4. O.T. but in relation to an earlier post in winter where we all were debating if today’s American pop culture is more decadent than was pop culture in the late 70s, when New York was in peril of perishing, according to the pundits, and Son of Sam was wreaking havoc.

    Here’s my vote toward then-vs-now, a classic bit of NY debauchery that spontaneously took place on SNL in may of ’78……

    LOlzz! Brilliant. I’ve always thought that Jagger was the king of post-modern agit-prop; that was pretty damn subervisive a move for live mainstream television some 38 years ago.

  5. I don’t comment much on these threads, as your guy’s (” you guys’ ” ? What the hell grade level is my grammar at?) taste is totally alien to me. I wish I could like Classical music like a proud White man should but I just don’t. I wish I could say I didn’t like addictive degenerate poz music but I can’t. I mostly like techno/house and jigaboo club trash at my age, but when I was younger I had Whiter and more rebellious tastes.

    PA:
    “Misty/Tillman has a rich, resonant voice which I like in a male singer.”
    The male voice I always appreciated most was Chris Cornell. Very vanilla; that’s a common sentiment among the lemmings.

    My disfigured personality was formed listening to stuff you wouldn’t like.

    I absolutely loved the sound and attitude and anger of RATM, but even before I was “awake” I wished so much they didn’t have so much hatred and anger against my race. I wished so much for a band that sounded exactly like them but whose rage was directed against the global elite instead of against me. Of course, something like that wouldn’t get published, as it might spark real revolution.

    Korn, for sure, spoke to my anguish; and I loved NIN which I believed to be sophisticated way ahead of it’s time. Halo eight was the best, IMO.

    You can’t really hear NIN if you’ve never done any acid or mushrooms.

  6. Anyway, I was a really big NIN fan in the time of halo six to halo eleven or so. End of the nineties.

    A decade later, as a djoo-aware Nahtzee, I found the lyrics to Halo 24 to be very interesting.
    “God Given” and “Meet Your Master”, (33:44-41:43) especially, but all over the thing.

    I’m positive that most of Reznor’s fans who are so mesmerized by his material have absolutely no idea what it’s about, but I’m pretty sure I do. Those shitlibs are clueless.

  7. Remember when Bob Dylan got famous singing OUR folk songs?

    What happened to our own troubadours. There were of course a thousand cornball troupes who would sing the old folk songs,

    I’m a long mule skinner
    and my home’s out West
    Looking for the woman
    that will love me best

    I’m down in the bottom
    skinnin mules for Jon Ryan
    puttin my intitals on a mule’s behind
    with my long whip line, with my long whip line

    Hey there, little water boy
    wont you bring your bucket round
    and if you dont like what you’re doin
    wont you lay your bucket down

    But somehow the folk groups composed of core American whites would sing those songs with infinite levels of hokeyness, whereas Bobby D and that other jew sang them with feeling.

    What’s that about? i don’t see how we can blame the jew for that we don’t sing our own songs.

    Whatever. The people got removed from the land because of “progress” and without that connection to the land, nothing means anything.

    It all gets back to easy energy in the form of oil and its technology and that we are not evolved to use it, we can’t control ourselves because life is competitive and advantage accrues to he who takes it.

    ***************

    as your guy’s (” you guys’ ” ? What the hell grade level is my grammar at?) taste is totally alien to me.

    The genetive plural is indicated, which takes the apostrophe after the plural form of the noun, thus: guys’

    Both you guys’ taste and your guys’ taste are correct; the second usage sounds better and so is preferred.

  8. Though it might seem heavy laden
    with mockery and scorn!
    listen closely children
    to how the song was born!

  9. “The male voice I always appreciated most was Chris Cornell.”

    I’ve always thought Soundgarden was the true, most deserving torchbearer for ‘grunge’ and ‘The Seattle Sound.”
    Many do not know that Pear Jam and the group “Live” were big-time corporate-assembled project bands; in the summer of ’93, rock scribes were flown in from all points of the U.S. to private club shows and press conferences in NY, SF, Chi., D.C. and New Orleans; I remember thinking, ‘wow, they’re going all out for this year’s batch of newbies…”
    And soon enough, we saw why—- with those two bands dominating virtual all the bandwith of the then-emergent “alt-rock” new music stations……..FWIW, the fringe-grunge acts Candlebox and Silverchair were among this motley marketing-plan as well, but sort-of broke off and into their own sorta motley demo.

  10. O.T.@PA,

    I’m passing this link along, in case you or others haven’t seen it; I’m thinking it could be the base of any upcoming post in which miscegenation is broached as a topic; pretty interesting hypothetical-come-to-life situation here…

    http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/14/world/asia/india-jarawas-child-murder.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=photo-spot-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news

    [very interesting article, thanks! -PA]

  11. I absolutely loved the sound and attitude and anger of RATM, but even before I was “awake” I wished so much they didn’t have so much hatred and anger against my race.

    My own estimate is that around 10% of RATM’s “fans” had any clue to the underlying politics their music was attempting to imply, mostly unsuccessfully. Kids just heard a loud, loud band with a “rebellious” sound they liked and jumped on the RAGE bandwagon.

    None of their (mostly white) fans of yesteryear gave a crap about anything that Tom Morello was saying after the band broke up. Growing up down South I laughed quite a few times upon seeing college kids with a Bush/Chaney bumper sticker on one side and a RAGE sticker on the other. And Morello’s politics are about the most laughable, predictable brand of hysterical liberal screechology that you’d see coming straight out of Mother Jones.

  12. @ Nikcrit – I read an article about uncontacted tribes and there’s still dozens of them in Latin America, from Southern Mexico to Brazil. New Guinea alone has 50+ because of the difficulty of the terrain.

    The lack of immunity to modern diseases usually kills off a huge fraction of their small populations with 1 generation of joining the outside world.

  13. Thordaddy,
    I’d be curious to get your opinion on the nytimes cover story link I asked PA to take a look at; it’s sort-of a hypothetical-exaggeration-come-to-life tale in which you can bounce a lot of miscegenation/self-annihilation-or-self-perpetuation what-ifs? off of….. Please, take a gander if you’re so willing…..

    http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/14/world/asia/india-jarawas-child-murder.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=photo-spot-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news

  14. nikcrit:
    “Many do not know that Pear Jam and the group “Live” were big-time corporate-assembled project bands”
    Didn’t know. Always thought they were kind of “meh”.

    Camlost
    “around 10% of RATM’s “fans” had any clue to the underlying politics their music was attempting to imply, mostly unsuccessfully.”
    If anti-Whitism is so ingrained into our culture that it can be that obvious and nobody notices, we have our work cut out for us. Do they actually have to scream “kill all crackers” before we figure it out?

    I think they were in denial. Whites are still in denial that the world hates us and loves to believe we are the cause of all it’s problems; they still believe if we just keep sucking up everything will be OK. They haven’t figured out yet that it’s never going to be enough. Now that we can have a Black President and the blacks will be angrier than ever, it’s __starting__ to sink in.

Leave a Reply

